bunny sock hop

October 7, 2007

bunny-sock-hop2.jpg

When Tom and I first moved into our new home, 3 years ago in December, we discovered that a wildlife highway ran right through our backyard.

Most mornings, I’ll stand at the kitchen sink, washing the dishes I should have washed the night before. It’s then that I’ll catch from the corner of my eye, squirrels, raccoons and all manner of bird, scamper, skip and hop along our block wall fence. When the sun is high and the weather is warm, lizards skitter across the wall, stopping occasionally to pump out a few push-ups. When the sun lowers again, our resident possum waddles across the lawn, muttering to himself. He makes his way to our trash can, then pops inside for a nosh.

One evening, as I pulled into the driveway, my headlights caught something. At first I thought it was a plastic bag with the handles. I turned off the motor, grumbling about what kind of loser would throw their trash in our front yard. Just then the bag moved. Read the rest of this entry »

hummus and the shins

October 7, 2007

stuff1.jpg

Tom and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary tonight. Our anniversary is not until Monday, Oct. 8th, but for obvious reasons we celebrated tonight.

Tom, (the big sweetie), surprised me with tickets to see The Shins at the Santa Barbara Bowl. We arrived in SB early so we could have dinner at a wonderful middle eastern restaurant called Zaytoon.

I would expound on this much more if it wasn’t 1:00 in the morning, and I wasn’t exhausted.

But I’ve posted some of my feeble attempts at photography in an effort to give some impressions of our wonderful evening.

Note: We had dessert twice. Once after dinner and then again after the concert. No wonder my jeans were a bit snug tonight!

Also note, that the first image of a full plate of baklava and the last image of concert are Tom’s photos.

Good night, or good morning, whatever your perspective may be at this moment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 411 other followers