snatchkee

May 20, 2008

I am happy to report that I am not going crazy, nor am I suffering from memory loss. My typical morning ritual of ransacking the house, looking for car keys, minutes before the time I should be leaving for work, the rant to follow and subsequent hair-pulling, can all be easily explained away.

This morning, as I was systematically dumping out the entire contents of my purse with one hand and wiping tears of frustration with the other, I spotted, from the blurry corner of my right eye, the dread Snatchkee, tiptoeing along the baseboard, with the keys in question, in his grubby little mitts.

I immediately sprung into action, grabbing an empty mayonnaise jar from the recycling bin and with the agility and stealth of a… er… um… Labrador puppy, pounced and scooped the wee, pink, horned culprit into my jar. I punched some air holes into the lid and took him to work with me. I spent the whole commute scolding him while he sat pouting in his jar in the passenger seat and yes, I probably should have been paying more attention to my driving. In fact, I cut some poor lady off changing lanes on I5. Of course, had she not been on her cell phone… but, I digress.

Even as I write, the little monster is sitting on my desk, in his jar, making wide-mouth frog faces at me. Yeah, like that’s going to make me release him any faster. I’m still trying to figure out what to do with him.

What should I do? What would you do?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 383 other followers