unsung heroes – their voices must be heard

December 22, 2008

elf2

During this holiday season, many of us will be rushing from party to party, slugging down eggnog and carelessly ripping apart painstakingly wrapped presents. We’ll, no doubt, be thanking Santa for all the lovely gifts bestowed upon us, giving him all the credit for the momentary glee we experience as we pile up our newly aquired swag.

Well, before you tear into that last box of See’s candy, I invite you to take a moment. Take a moment to think about the folks who worked tirelessly all year long, well into the wee hours of the morning. The people working behind the scenes to make it all possible, the ones really responsible for that silly smile on your face

I’m speaking of course, of the elf.

Elves, the unsung heroes of Christmas. Elves, their voices must be heard.  So again, please take a moment. Think of them in their ill fitting, green suits and their pointy little shoes. Think of how their efforts make Mr. Kringle look good. That’s all they really want, is just a moment. A moment of recognition.

A moment of recognition, and maybe an extra cookie set out on the table Christmas Eve night. (They don’t really eat much.)
Thank you, this has been a Public Service Announcement, paid for by E.L.F.S. (Elves Looking for Sympathy.)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Yeah, yeah, I know! Yet another shameless repost… tis the season afterall! The wee elf was a quick sketch then and a quick sketch he remains.

By the way, as much as I enjoy folks thinking I’m savvy enough to code snow onto my blog, I reluctantly admit, it’s not my own cleverness, unless you count figuring out how to click the “snow” button on WordPress, hee hee!

Hope all of you are enjoying the season and are filled with joy, peace and goodwill toward peeps and stuff… oh and if you get a chance, treat an elf to lunch, eh?

36 Responses to “unsung heroes – their voices must be heard”

  1. studio lolo Says:

    Elfs looking for sympathy!!!!!!!! :D

    He’s freakin’ adorable. I’m truly smitten and of course grateful for all he and his little friends do. And okay, his shoes turn me on. There, I said it.

    The snow thing is cool but I thought it was little reflections on my screen because of how the sun is hitting it now. Or I thought my eye floaters had turned white which could mean something ominous!

    You’re too cool!!! Thanks for the smile :)

  2. nickpatton Says:

    I love the quick sketch. Don’t worry about reposting… we’ve all done it! Or at lest I did last week.

  3. valgalart Says:

    I do think the snow is awesome! I have a wordpress blog but I can’t seem to do much :( I have never seen this little dude so he is new to me :) Quite adorable and I said an elf mantra!

  4. deb Says:

    So clever! A great post….new to me too…have a Merry Christmas!


  5. I’ll bet a little elf told you where that “SNOW” button was too!
    Ok…. he has my heart… in lieu of lunch I’ll be sending a a donation….pay to the order of E.L.F.S did you say….

    Have a wonderful holiday my friend! I’ll think of you as I slug down my eggnog! LOL!

  6. Eli Says:

    Happy HOHOHO’s and sleigh bells and what!

  7. cata Says:

    OH! adorable as always!
    Buon natale, carissima!
    I wish you a 2009 plenty of inspiration and happiness.
    Baci e abbracci,
    Cata

  8. Sonia Says:

    Great character! So cute!… Love the little boots and the expression on his face. Merry christmas!

  9. Angela Says:

    This little guy really pulls at the heart strings. Of course, I’ll be showing my support with a donation to E.L.F.S.. With the -20 windshield temps we’ve been experiencing I’m asking that anyone who can please donate to SFAWCF.(Send a Freezing Artist to a Warmer Climate Fund) :P

  10. Jess Says:

    A lovely drawing :) Happy Christmas Linda.x

  11. Mary Says:

    He’s so cute, I’ll leave him 2 extra cookies and a glass of milk :-) Three cheers for the elves! His eyes look a little glassy from all that late night work. Tell him to take a month off and sleep. Merry Christmas to you!

  12. theartofpuro Says:

    Yes I agrre we ahve to think more about elves,lovely illo

    Merry Xmas and Happy New Year

  13. yoon see Says:

    Beautiful!
    Poor little guy…..let him speaks!
    Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

  14. Doug Says:

    since I missed him first time around, he is NEW to me! Thanks for explaining that snow… I have never seen this done before… I and I WAS thinking you were some kind of GENIUS! :0)

  15. Faruffa Says:

    Cute cute little elf!!!
    … if you have not already tried, I suggest you this site: http://www.elfyourself.com
    Merry Christmas Linda :o)


  16. Beautiful illo, and beautiful thoughts,

    Merry Christmas.. the best for you and your family.
    Ale

  17. Eric Barclay Says:

    Love his expression… my pets give me that look when they want food.

    I’ve really enjoyed visiting your blog and seeing your work this year. Have a wonderful Christmas and best wishes for the new year!

  18. Jennifer Says:

    What a lovely elf! Hope you have a great holiday! :-)

  19. Susan Says:

    Very endearing character, and that is quite a screed to go with. I look forward to seeing more of your work – thanks for sharing it.

  20. Kelly Says:

    This is so true. What a cute elf!

    Great work :)

    Enjoy the holidays!

  21. Monica Says:

    Well, look at those eyes! He’s got my sympathy and heartfelt thanks! Gosh, he is adorable, I love the strong sketchy lines, those big shoes, the way he’s holding his hands… I want to give him a hug!

    Merry Christmas, Linda, and a wonderful, safe and healthy New Year. I look forward to seeing more and more of your artwork!

  22. erin Says:

    so cute, maybe he and his buddies can get some of that bailout money before the reindeer spend it all on oats and salt-licks and trips to the Bahamas.

  23. carla Says:

    He’s adorable! I’ll pay attention to him: Hurray for the Elf! Very nice:>

  24. Nancy Lefko Says:

    Have a very Merry Christmas….and I never take the elves for granted…by now I MUST be an honorary elf !!!!

    Ho Ho Ho !!!!!

  25. Indigene Says:

    Oh my, how original and cute!

  26. LA STern Says:

    poor wriddle welf :(


  27. Well said! What a fabulous post for Voices. This is wonderful. I love this little guy. Great work. Merry Christmas to you and yours.
    See you in the New Year
    V

  28. soulbrush Says:

    hello sweet elf….have a very merry xmas too!

  29. studio lolo Says:

    Ohhhhh Sketchiiiiiieeeee…you won the giveaway :)

    Yay you!!!!! Stop by and tell me what you’d like!

  30. artseafartsea Says:

    lLove the elf!


  31. I love the pencil lines! This is one super cool elf! Merry Christmas!!

  32. Emily Says:

    I’ve put out a pot of rice pudding for the local elf chapter… and a dash of spiced wine… thanks for reminding me!
    Have a safe and happy holliday Linda! I wish you lots of love and sucess!
    Emily


  33. Oh, how can you resist a sweet looking face like that. I think Jerry Lewis should book him for his next marathon. Of COURSE I will be thanking the elves this year and even leave out a few extra cookies clearly marked for elves, lest the big red guy devour them all.

    Merry Christmas to you and your family!!! Thank you for the many ho ho ho’s this year.

  34. eugenia gina Says:

    Linda, merry Christmas, your elf remind me of Dobby and Hermione act for saving the elves heehehee… :D

    I want to send you a greeting card but I don’t have your email, anyway Happy holidaaay!

  35. Sara Says:

    You have a lot of sensitivity using the graphite. I can spend minutes watching the texture of your lines.

  36. Vanessa Says:

    That is the cutest sketch ever!! That would make such a lovely greeting card!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

