bunnicula and ghost bunny

October 11, 2007

halloween-bunnies.jpg

When my niece Chelsea was just a little kid, she loved this book called Bunnicula: A Rabbit-Tale of Mystery, by Deborah Howe (Author), James Howe (Author), Alan Daniel (Illustrator). I think there was a whole serie of these books.

Bunnicula is a story told from the point of view of a dog named Harold and a cat named Chester and mostly about a little rabbit who gets dubbed Bunnicula, I think because the family saw the movie “Dracula” or something.

Anyway, it’s very cute and funny, and has nothing much to do with anything, except, I was thinking about how Chelsea dressed up like Bunnicula one Halloween long ago, (cute as the dickens too) and that got me thinking about what costumes bunnies would wear, if they could dress themselves in costumes, not having opposable thumbs and all. With this thought in mind I did these sketches at lunch today, and since I am running off to Ventura in a minute, thought I’d use them as my post today.

Cheers!

6 Responses to “bunnicula and ghost bunny”

  1. Alexis Says:

    OMG. Too too cute.

  2. Joni Says:

    That is too funny!! I soo remember that holloween, Chelsea was so cute, that was her first costume that was somewhat gruesome. She graduated from cute to scary. Thanks for reminding me of that. Your bunnie illustrations are awesome!!

  3. Maddy Says:

    thanks. I really enjoyed your sketches.
    Best wishes


  4. […] year. She wanted Bunnicula on it, so I spent almost all my free time Sunday making the stencil from a sketch she found online. I gave up twice while working on it and tried to find an alternative. I […]


  5. Hi Linda,

    I wanted to share the Jack-O-Lantern stencil I made based loosely on your bunnicula sketch.
    Bunnicula Jack-O-Lantern

    Thanks for sharing your work, and I hope you enjoy the pumpkin.

  6. BethX Says:

    OMG your an amazing drawer. i cant draw people (i can- i just cant do hair!!), but i can do very convincing cartoon animals. i love drawing manga best though! bethX


Leave a Reply

