my tooth needs a crown

October 30, 2007

crown-tooth3.jpg

If you’d like to know anything about procrastination, just ask me. However, if talking about teeth and dentists and spending ridiculous amounts of money makes you queasy, perhaps you should go here.

I’ve had a throbbing toothache for days, yet I haven’t gotten around to calling the dentist. The reason for the toothache might likely be, I’ve neglected to get my crown finished, after the root canal I had months ago. Yep, I’m dealing with a three month old temporary crown right now, and I’m an idiot, or maybe not, it’s hard to say.

I mean, can you blame me? I dumped a truck full of cash at three different dentist offices these past 6 months. First, I got shaken down for $1200 to get my teeth “deep cleaned”. A month later, another 5 big ones for a crown prep to be followed up by another $500 when I get the crown “delivered.”

Feeling the need to recoup, I ingnored my dentist’s instructions to come in and finish the crown in no more than two week’s time. The temporary crown was doing fine, why rock the boat? Why spend the money?

Believe it or not, I feel this was one time procrastination paid off. I was about two months late for my crown delivery, and I was feeling like someone took a sledgehammer to the side of my head. Every sip of coffee or spoonful of ice cream brought me to my knees.

Turns out I needed a root canal.

There you go. Had I been a good girl and gotten my crown after only two weeks, as I was directed, Ole Tooth Boy would have had to rip my new crown off to administer said root canal. It would have meant extra pain, extra agony, plus an extra $1000. Not to mention the extra visits to the dentist. Don’t get me wrong, my team of dentists and their office folk are lovely people. It’s not that I hate dentists, but I seem to feel better when they’re not around, (if I may bastardize a quote by Henry, from Bukowski’s “Barfly”.)

So, after enduring the torture of my very first root canal, I again, and with conviction this time, ignored the directive to finish up my crown….soon.

Three months of procrastination later, here I am, throbbing. Did I call the dentist today. No I did not. I guess I need to bite the bullet (but not to hard, it might hurt) and pay the nice man and get my mouth fixed.

There are probably no more excuses.

3 Responses to “my tooth needs a crown”

  1. Angela Says:

    I believe Jay Jordan Uy used your artwork without permission in the Squiggle competition:

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Bamboo-By-Wacom/7616161690

  2. Cory O'Brien Says:

    Linda – The above artwork has been removed from the contest.

  3. Dr.Stacey Says:

    I’m a dentist… and in my fellow dentist’s defense, the tooth probably wouldn’t have needed a root canal had you had your crown delivered within two weeks of first getting the temporary. A temporary crown is meant to be just that — temporary. Leaving them on longer than recommended makes the tooth susceptible to further problems. There is a reason why we make these “recommendations” that has nothing to do with us pocketing your money. We are looking out for you and the health of your teeth! So… stop procrastinating and get things fixed the “recommended” way early, while there are less problems. It will end up saving you money and agony in the end.


Leave a Reply

