kitty in pumps

December 16, 2007

kittyw_pumps.jpg
snowman_angel.jpgaardvark.jpgbluebird.jpg

Tom and I put up our tree today, and I’ve been wringing my hands in anticipation of filling it up with our ornaments, collected over the past twenty years, mostly glass blown, and made in Eastern Europe. These things are like heroin to me. I get the DT’s if I don’t get my hands on some of the glittery stuff as soon as the clock strikes midnight on December 1st.

Every year we carefully pick out and purchase one or two more ornaments for our growing collection. However, in addition to these fragile, lovelies, we can never resist picking up a couple two, three goofy ornaments. They range from plaster grizzly bears to glass Yukon Cornelius and Hermey. One year I nabbed the last tiny mobile of Dr. Seuss’s “One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish” from Hallmark.

So in addition to being addicted the shiney stuff, I am also a sucker for the sillier fare. From the sublime to the ridiculous, I believe the saying goes.

Last year I spent an inordinant amount of cash on a kitty in pumps (pictured above.) So attached to this inanimate object did I become, that it now lives permenantly on my mantle.

This year, while cruising around Green Thumb, (a nursery in town that transforms into a Christmas wonderland every year,) we stumbled upon some cloth ornaments, we just had to have. A Snowman Angel and an….er….umm….aardvark, I believe. Take a look.

Anyway, that’s my round-about way of saying, “nope, didn’t draw anything today!”

3 Responses to “kitty in pumps”

  1. artseafartsea Says:

    In pumps no less. A regular riot indeed. Good idea for the blog and cute.

  2. Helena C. Rådström Says:

    Yes! I can understand your addiction indeed! 🙂 How warm and cozy to choose your own ornaments with thought and consideration and individual taste! Ah well, you know, I am the oddball who go mad about quaint objects!


  3. Oh my, these are SO wonderful! No amount of $ is too much for that cat in pumps. And the bird is so great too. I do the same thing, pick out one or two that I love each year. It’s always fun unpacking ornaments because I forget from year to year what I have added. Tree is coming tomorrow night, so I’ll get to go through them soon…


Leave a Reply

