soar

January 2, 2008

flyingweiner.jpg
FLYING WEINER DOG

The Illustration Friday theme for this week is “Soar…”

…and who among us, upon being asked to depict “soaring”, hasn’t conjured up an image of the quintessential icon of grace and all that is lofty, the flying wiener dog?

Who, I ask you?

Just me, you say?

Ahem…well, ok then.

Just moments ago, our backyard was visited by three raccoons. This visitation was heralded by the guttural caterwauling of Joey our big black kitty. Joey has made it clear he is not nearly as entertained by the masked interlopers as Tom and I are. We gently shush Joey, trying to make sure he doesn’t scare the coons away. But they’re too smart. They know we’re there watching them, and they put on a short but sweet little show of waddling and clowning before they scamper off into the night.

So, I choose to interpret the apperance of our three guests as a good omen for 2008. In fact, I plan to, as often as possible, soar through this next year with all the good humor, grace and hopefulness of the beloved flying wiener dog herself.

Happy New Year everyone!
.
30 Responses to “soar”

  1. visualkaos Says:

    And, while with silent lifting mind I’ve trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space,
    Put out my hand and touched the face of God.

    I dunno, a little mustard, some chopped onions, sweet pickle relish and …

  2. empressnewclothes Says:

    Ah, I can hear Bach’s Air… so free, so light… like angels soaring with Mr. Weiner dog……………….. Halt!!! Oh dear, Linda, are you making chilli dog?!

  3. Faruffa Says:

    This is hilarious!
    Those ears seem made to fly from very low to very high … a great hope for all Dachshund :o)
    Happy new year

  4. mrsb Says:

    Oh he is too cute!! I just love his little rotund body, perfect for soaring! Happy New Year, and I’m so glad I discovered your blog as well, what fun and wonderful work!!

    a : )

  5. tekentijger Says:

    Well, i certainly thought of it =)
    Like the perspective of yours!

  6. bobo's slave Says:

    Another loving story and great sketch, love the flying ears! Are you going to make the racoons into sketches as well? How fun to have all this cute little visitors always! Your story of those bunnies still running in my mind! Are they coming back?

    P/S: Bobo is a naughty little girl! See this http://bobomiow.blogspot.com/2007/09/blog-post_15.html

  7. Debra Cooper Says:

    Absolutely perfect for the topic. I’ll bet all wiener dogs dream of taking flight, even for a short amount of time. Great sketch!

  8. knottydon Says:

    nice perspective. the dog surely enjoys the flight ;oP

  9. Gina Says:

    i just love it! it reminds me of a rubber stamp i saw years ago (and regret not buying) that said “you may already be a weiner”. And 3 raccoons sounds like good luck to me too!

  10. studio lolo Says:

    You are the master of whimsical animals! I love the spread out toesies and the wrinkles around the hock. perfect! I think I saw him fly by my window yesterday, I swear. I’d like to print this and send it to my 80 year old Uncle in Ottawa who had a dachsund he adored. (May I do that?)he’d get such a kick out of it.


  11. Go, doggie, go!

    ๐Ÿ™‚
    cute illustration and story…
    teri

  12. Ratlion Says:

    This is brilliant! Lol!


  13. Oh my gosh!! This is wonderful!!! Love it :o) You are a wonderful illustrator with wonderful ideas too :o)

  14. artseafartsea Says:

    Looks like u have a lot of fans out there. Love the dog. Keep it going……

  15. Danielle Says:

    This is absolutely brilliant! I have just been checking out your blog and I am a particular fan of your sketching! It reveals your true talent and I particularly love the Christmas card sketch with the animals trying to put the star on the Christmas tree! All of your characters look “real” and I get the feeling that once we look away they continue on with what they were doing! True talent I tell ya!!

  16. sheree Says:

    haha — very cute and funny! i had a family of raccoons withe their six babies in tow peering into my kitchen one night all eyes aglow! i was tempted to invite them in ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. sketched out Says:

    Thanks everyone!

    It’s great getting back in the drawing saddle after all the holiday shenanigans. And it’s great to hear from wonderful old friends and all my new talented fellow blogging buddies.

    If the past few months are any indication, 2008 is going to be fantastic, inspiring and productive thanks to y’all!

    Tekentijger, your weiner dog is adorable. Hilarious that we both thought of similar things.

    Laurel, I would be honored if you sent your Uncle a print of my drawing. I will probably colorize her at some point. I can send you a nice print out when I do, if you’d like.

    So come on everybody, repeat after me: I’ll never grow up, never grow up, never grow up! Oop! Here we go, joining the flying weiner dog, soaring into 2008!!

  18. rui sousa Says:

    lol.Great, nice illustration!
    keep on the good work.
    http://www.ruisousaartworks.blogspot.com

  19. lukasztyrala Says:

    Well, steering with ears is not an easy thing and oneโ€™s here looks like is doing just fine! Wonder if pigeons are jealous. I bet they are…

    Nice work.

  20. NessaDee Says:

    Love this! The concept and perspective is wonderful!

  21. eli Says:

    That’s such a great image!

    Brings back happy memories of the basselope too.

    Oh, thanks for your most recent insightful comments by the way!

  22. Sparky Says:

    I think there’s a time of night where all dachsunds secretly take to the skies. I mean, look at those ears. How can you NOT fly?

    Great illo!

    RYC: thanks – I do enjoy the weird. ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. froggie Says:

    hiya, sketched out! sooo nice of you to compliment my stuff today! but i’m like, BLOWN AWAY by your cpencil work! BAM! timid, oh i dunno about THAT sister! :))) the mom in the bubble, the raccoon! i like that you’re experimenting too, digi, trad, digi, trad…so cool to see it all! ๐Ÿ™‚

    can’t wait to see what YOU come up with next! ๐Ÿ™‚

    froggie

    ps – i promise to chat gwossh in the next IF…so new i gotta make sure that i say that right stuff. ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. valgalart Says:

    this is my favourite for the theme! Well done and have an absolutely stupendous New Year!


  25. Wow… I really love this angle!


  26. Love this guy, what perfect propeller ears. And an ideal way to break out of the Napoleonic complex so many weiner dogs are burdened with!

    Now, you know I would say there is no better omen than three raccoons. Perhaps they symbolize health, happiness and prosperity. Or, more likely, crab, raw eggs and stolen dog food.

  27. Kate Says:

    ROFLOL!!!!! Seriously, this just caught me off gfuard and cracked me up! I used to won a weiner dog with ears that stuck out to the sides liek a flying nun when he ran, as if he woulld take off. And he was shaped like the beast in your drawing. Way cute!

  28. cata Says:

    OH! I love this perspective!
    Your line work is always fantastic.
    Happy 2008.
    Cata

  29. kim Says:

    What a great concept. The perspective on this is awesome. It’s amazing what you can do with the details on your pieces. It’s puts the viewer in that place and time.

    Ps. Love the simplicity of the blog design. It really showcases your work very well.


Leave a Reply

