dogtown

March 6, 2008

dogtown3.jpg

I’ve been around the block a few times, (if you know what I mean,) and I’ve done a thing or two in this life. I’ve also put off doing a thing or two in this life.

It’s been said often and I absolutely agree with this advice: The things you regret most, at the end of your life are not the things you have done, but the things you have not done. So in that spirit, although it may be a wee bit early to start a “Bucket List,” I feel it would be a grand idea to make a concerted effort to DO more… you know, be a doer.

In my thirties, skydiving sounded like a great way to affirm your life, if for no other reason, giving you a valid reason to give mother earth a great big bear hug once you made it back alive! But I have news for you, it’s not going to happen now. I no longer have the desire, nor do I have (and this is the important part,) the cojones.

However, among the items on my list, be they courageous, interesting, altruistic, important or just plain fun, the thing I might just consider adding…is skateboarding.

Mmmm hmmm, you heard me. Skateboarding.

A middle aged woman careening down narrow sidewalks, annoying denizens of the nearest strip mall, shouting “Skateboarding is not a crime” sound ridiculous to you?

Hmmmm, you might have a point. Ok, maybe I’ll just add: rent “Dogtown” to my list and call it a day.

6 Responses to “dogtown”

  1. Jess Says:

    I would have loved to been a skate boarder when I was young, but they weren’t around where I lived, so I didn’t know about them. I used to roller skate everywhere though. There’s no chance I’m going to skateboard now, I’m not worried about my image any more no, it’s just that I have no balance any more! Not even standing up sometimes!

  2. tombarrett Says:

    Skydiving has been my big “thrill-to-do” for years, but with two young children, I have put it on the back burner. And I may outgrow the desire as you have. We’l see.

    Nice sketch!

  3. Bobo Says:

    Skate boarding up to the space!
    “Hey, I’m the king!” The dog’s expression told me this.


  4. Yes, go for it Linda!!!
    Why not? You know you want to…;o)

    Love this sketch, as I always love all your illustrations!!


  5. I totally agree, I have always regretted never skateboarding. But I grew up many miles outside a small town, and skateboards and gravel roads simply don’t mix.

    I did skydive, when I was in my early twenties, and it was such an amazing experience. And not scary, actually – at least not nearly so scary as you would think in the abstract. The feeling once the chute opens and you’re out there floating along is like nothing else – the thing that struck me most was how quiet it was.

    The “skateboarding is not a crime” comment reminds me of some ads I saw in one of those “Best Commercials” roundups a bunch of years ago. They were Nike ads about skateboarders. Oh, just found them on YouTube, of course! These were great:



  6. No no, not at all! Don’t watch it, you go for it!
    I’ve been dieing for those shoes with wheels in the bottom! So I’ll be the other middle aged lady with the Wheelies and a two year old!
    My theme is “If not now…when?”
    You are too fun Linda!


Leave a Reply

