primitive

April 18, 2008

Fossils of the lesser known Bunnisaurus Rex have been found in a variety of rock formations dating to the last three million years of the Carrotaceous period, approximately 68 to 65 million years ago.

Like the Tyrannosaurus Rex, the Bunnisaurus was bipedal, with a massive skull balanced by a long heavy cotton-tipped tail and very small forearms. Unlike the Tyrannosaurus Rex, the B Rex, as they are sometimes referred to, were herbivores, feeding on the now extinct intelligent form of carrot. Further differences of note include: fluffiness and mood swings ranging from giddy to dangerously annoyed.

The Illustration Friday theme this week is “Primitive.”

35 Responses to “primitive”

  1. Brian Says:

    This is my all-time fav! I want a t-shirt of the t-bunny!

  2. cata Says:

    OH! I love this bunny!
    GReat job.
    Cata

  3. irisz Says:

    I love this one! Excellent!

  4. Linda Says:

    Very cute idea! Funny!

  5. Lori Says:

    This is SOOOOOO imaginative…I love it!!!!

  6. eli Says:

    Did you go off your meds? haha, very funny illo, I’d like to see some tyrannical bunny teeth though to make it more menacing… and it occurs to me this is why carrot bones are never found next to bunny bones… hmmm… Ben Stein needs to see this!

    This post made me giddy, then dangerously annoyed! ha, I loved that bit…

  7. studio lolo Says:

    This is an all time great!! You need to have your animal idioms published, honstly.
    hey, one time I was taking care of an ancient dog back in Rhode Island, and the clients had this neglected bunny in a hutch in the backyard. It was all matted and I felt bad for it, so I took it out and started brushing and combing it. I kept hearing these low, gutteral growls and constantly looked over my shoulder to see who the heck it was. I had already put the dog in the house. Aaaaanyhoodle, it was that freakin’ bunny and he wanted a piece of me!! Now I see why he wasn’t brushed or combed. He leaped off the table and chased me all around the yard. I kid you not!! There I was screaming and laughing at the same time as Bunnicula chased me down. I finally covered him with a blanket and gently heaved him back into his hutch. He continued to lunge at me through the cage! I’m still seeing a therapist.


  8. But did they multiply as quickly as present day bunnies do, is what I want to know! Geez Linda, I’m gonna have bunny nightmares!!! LOL!! You crazy, clever chicka!

  9. bobo's slave Says:

    I love the best supporting role, the terrified carrot.

  10. Lisa Says:

    Great bunny! It made me laugh out loud. The expression on the carrot is fantastic. Thanks for sharing,
    Lisa


  11. I feel like I am somehow related to that bunny. So funny and well done!


  12. ha ha this could be posted for monday artday as well for ‘dinosaurs’…good stuff. hugs

  13. artseafartsea Says:

    U r a regular laff riot! Where do u come up with these themes. Oh yeah, I know u conjure them up. Forgot for a moment. Hysterical!

  14. Vicki Says:

    I’m gaffawing over here! I’ve always loved you dinosaurs.

  15. Mike Sgier Says:

    Very funny! I really like the carrot.

  16. leafprobably Says:

    Awesome sketch 🙂 The carrot was a nice touch

  17. Angela Says:

    The fluffy poof at the tippy top of his tail put me into a fit of giggles!!

    This makes me think of my favorite Buffy musical quote, “I have a theory. It could be bunnies!” Now I see Anya was right, some bunnies were dangerous. Yikes!

  18. Pickledog Says:

    Hee hee.. Great drawing and description of the Bunnisaurus. It’s probably best that they are extinct now.

  19. gina Says:

    silly B rex! How I love your pom2 tail!! 😀

  20. kristin Says:

    woohaaa, great expression! I love it!

  21. kim Says:

    Aha! I’m pretty sure you are the first person to think of a Bunnisaurus Rex. That is too funny!

  22. Jess Says:

    You’re so clever at thinking up original ideas for IF!

  23. Faruffa Says:

    Grandiose!!!
    Everytime is a great surprise clever and fun.

  24. Bambi-really Says:

    Fantastic! I suspect he was roommates with the fellow I have been working on for Primitive. We’ll just see…

    I wish those intelligent carrots were still around, though — the modern day ones are such a snooze.


  25. Ha, ha, ha…. mood swings!!! You crack me up linda! This is great as always. Love the carrot too.. poor thing look at that terror face! hee, hee just great :o)

  26. dot Says:

    so silly and fun! great take on the theme.

  27. chickengirl Says:

    the best hybrid ever. Nice puffy tail. LOL.

  28. Lori Says:

    thanks so much for your kind words about my first IF entry! What a great, warm group of people at IF. Would it be ok if I added you to my favorite links on my blog?

  29. conniemartin Says:

    I feel really bad about the carrot and want a follow up where he does in the monster rabbit. But I do love the drawing.

  30. valgalart Says:

    i actually feel worried for that carrot! :0

  31. timafli Says:

    I like this one because it is very funny, and the way you did the rabbit looks like a dinosaur chasing a little carrot. Run Carrot Run…

  32. neil Says:

    Great style, great imagination, greatness all round. Very well done!

  33. vandyke Says:

    This is wonderful, silly and funny. T-Bunny… T-Cottontail… T-Rabbit.. I love the concept and the execution. Great!


Leave a Reply

