awkward as a cow on rollerskates

May 14, 2008

I stumbled upon this term online. I’ve never actually heard anyone utter (or udder) this particular phrase, but by golly if it’s written somewhere on the internet it must be true, right? Well, regardless of it’s validity, this alleged idiom tickled me, and I immediately conjured up an image.

Granted, the little bovine beauty above does not appear to be awkward at all. Instead, she seems to be gliding right along, hauling…well…er…beef, if you will.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Bessie is a recycled and refurbished post from way back in the early days. You know… waaaay back. Last November.

The poor thing was getting antsy, so I decided to knock the dust off, colorize and submit her to this weeks Sugar Frosted Goodness challenge, “C is for…”

13 Responses to “awkward as a cow on rollerskates”

  1. Bee Says:

    Such an excellent blog, your illustrations are wonderful throughout…great drawings and use of colour. This piece is really funny, with a great sense of movement 🙂

  2. Nancy Lefko Says:

    she looks a whole lot more agile than I would on skates !! great work !!!

  3. Mary Says:

    She looks great in color! I love the look in her eye….she appears ready to challenge anyone. Roller Derby, here she comes!

  4. Jess Says:

    I love the coloured version! She looks so confident…and streamlined.

  5. ratlion Says:

    Awkward? Her expression tells me she can do this in her sleep!
    😀

  6. artseafartsea Says:

    Very cute. Go Bessy or ?

  7. Faruffa Says:

    Oh my! this is excellent, but … where is the brake?


  8. This cracked me up! I love the way the udders are the last to follow!!! LOL!

    I finally did my Pico award, now I tag you for the Literary Meme. 🙂

  9. Bambi-really Says:

    Aha, I remember this lassie from way back – she’s so very cool and collected, and perhaps a little perturbed. Love it, she looks great in colour!

  10. studio lolo Says:

    Honestly, my husband just asked me what was wrong because he heard me cackling from the other room! I have never seen udders from this perspective before, flapping in the breeze like there’s no tomorrow! You completely KILL me every time. Now my eyes are too blurry to drive to the studio 8-P

  11. Gaia Says:

    This is too funny! When I visit your blog I always have a good laugh. I love the artworks and your descriptions are always great! 😀

  12. tombarrett Says:

    Great cow, Linda. Would love to see you do an awkward cow. Maybe holding on the the wall around the rink. That is what I had to do when I went roller skating (like 20 years ago)! 😛 I know it would be hilarious!

  13. Jim Says:

    My mother often uses the phrase “as clumsy as a pig on skates.” We are from farm country outside of Chicago, near Rockford, in Illinois. I’ve never heard it used with cows though.


Leave a Reply

