21 day creative exercise – day 1

June 23, 2008

Back in April, Alicia Padron and Gina Perry initiated a wonderful thing they called the 21 Day Creative Exercise. This is how Alicia explains it.

Many of my blogging buddies (you can find links to most of them on Alicia’s side bar,) joined in and it seemed as though their creativity just took off in leaps and bounds. It just looked like too much fun not to join in. So, although late to the party, I’m going to give it a whirl.

My goal for the next 21 days is to simply sketch whatever comes to mind, loosen up, just let things flow. In other words, spend less time cleaning, finessing and wracking my brain for ideas and just let my pencil have it’s way with the paper and see what happens.

I think this is going to be fun!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

So, anywho, I started the process today, and the first thing that came to my mind was something I often fantasized about as a kid. When I was about 7 or 8 years old, I thought it would be really neat if there were teeny, tiny people living inside the fruitless mulberry tree in our backyard. I would befriend them and invite them to move into my bedroom. Once they moved in, I would dress them in Little Kiddle clothing, feed them Fig Newtons and build them a comfy little home out of PF Flyer, shoe boxes.

It would have been awesome!

16 Responses to “21 day creative exercise – day 1”

  1. Gina Says:

    So cute – and I love your childhood tiny people fantasy! I’ll add you to the list – it’s so fun to see more people just starting the exercise.

  2. Vickie Says:

    It sounds like a good excersise plan. Maybe I’ll give it a go. PF Flyers! Now you’re telling your age.
    I hope your new excercise can make your art jump higher and run faster just like those shoes.
    Vickie

  3. Bobo's slave Says:

    Wulala, I’m so happy to hear this, and I’m sure all your fans rejoice over this great news too!

  4. eli Says:

    Wait, are you trying to implying that little people don’t live in Mulberry trees?

    Takes me back to when I first read the Indian in the Cupboard, one of my faves.

    The little dog is a nice touch, I like this one a lot.


  5. Linda!!!! Very cool!!!!
    I’m so happy you decided to go for it! Can’t wait to see what you come up with! You’ll see it is a wonderful way to free yourself. I found it really interesting and fun. I forced myself a bit too and I think is pays off.

    I’m so happy you decided to give it a go!! I’ll update my link list :o)

    By the way, love this sketch! And I too thought about that as a kid a lot! Your idea of living in fruit is way more fun that mine though. I don’t think I had figure out my living arrangements that well. But I did imagine to be able to get in the mouse holes and play with them in all the magical world behind the walls of your own house. :o)

    Now that I come to think of it, maybe that’s why I unconsciously sketched this one in the 21 day exercise.

    Maybe since I’m all grown up now I just feel i can fit in the hole anymore ha, ha! Love how the mind works, don’t you?


  6. Great sketch!
    I always liked the Kiddles in the lockets!

  7. artseafartsea Says:

    Very creative. Love the hand. And the little people. You always had quite the imagination.

  8. tombarrett Says:

    Cool! I think I might have to join you on a second round,as I haven’t had much time to draw lately. 😛

    Great sketch BTW!

  9. AaronP Says:

    I’m gonna start one right away Linda….. Thanks for the idea.
    Love yer stuff as always, Take care,
    Aaron.

  10. Nancy Lefko Says:

    OK Linda, I haven’t thought of Little Kiddles in eons !! And how I loved them….when I went to the link imagine my surprise when there was the surfer girl I had. I can still remember snapping her little feet into the surfboard ! Thanks for the memory…

    your sketches are great as always and I look forward to checking in over the next 21 days.

  11. Jess Says:

    Oh how exciting! I can’t wait to see what you produce. I did this excercise the first time round and it’s got me itching to maybe start again! 😀

  12. Marty-Crouz Says:

    Oui, c’est une idée une bande de mini copains… Et puis ça ne couterait pas trop cher en alimentation !
    Yes, it’s a cool idea to have tiny friends… And then that would not too much be expensive in food !

  13. Vicki Says:

    I especially like the teeny tiny doggy.

  14. gina Says:

    I often imagine about little people too, but they live inside my radio and sing, I think every kids have a dream about this, isn’t it weird?

  15. studio lolo Says:

    I really need to do more sketching. You inspire me! Can I have that little doggy????


Leave a Reply

