21 day creative exercise-day 3

June 25, 2008

His form gets a little sloppy towards the end, but… HE STICKS THE LANDING!

So, in an effort to continue studying and practicing action and consistency of character while keeping the sketching pace loose and spontaneous, this little back-flipping bunny just hopped write onto the page of my sketch book. And that would have been just great, if I hadn’t then, gone home and started getting all persnickety with it, which sort of defeats the purpose of this exercise. No matter. It was fun.

I think I may study the actual body movement of a back flip and see if, in the future, I can maybe revisit this acrobatic furball and improve his form. What with the Olympics being just around the corner and all. In the mean time, I am enjoying the process… and TRYING to be looser and more spontaneous.

19 Responses to “21 day creative exercise-day 3”

  1. Velvet Says:

    this is a cool exercise! luv the cute bunny! i have never tried drawing characters in motion..

  2. AaronP Says:

    Australia gives him a ’10’.

  3. matthewjeske Says:

    I like the drawing you did here, I think having the drawings arranged in an arc really gives the impression of his backflip, not how technically correct the body positions are.

  4. Vickie Says:

    He looks great. I was always too chicken to do a back flip. I need to work on my spontaneity too.
    Vickie


  5. These are great Linda!! He, he.. this is not easy to do.. and you did a wonderful job. Perfect 10 like in the Olympics :o)

    I love this bunny!! His last pose is my favorite, I love how he is looking sideways like that.. as if to wait and see if he is really well balanced and still. Aweome!!

  6. Meg Says:

    TOO cute!! I love your style!! 🙂

  7. Bobo's slave Says:

    Wow! Great great great movement! A perfect 10 for you and the bunny!

  8. tombarrett Says:

    10 (holds up scorecard)

    I think your little backflipper is well on his way to getting his Gold medal (24 carrot, of course)!

    Well done!

  9. Mary Beth Says:

    The Olypics are a wealth of material – I’m seeing bulls jumping hurdles in the 100 meter dash and frogs doing the butterfly stroke. Sigh … my mind – there’s a whole other universe there.

  10. erin Says:

    the judge from socal gives him a 10 as well!

  11. chickengirl Says:

    Love this. I dont think I can do this- you have a great knowledge of form and gestures. Totally cute too.

  12. artseafartsea Says:

    Very cute and in keeping with the olympics.

  13. Gaia Says:

    Tadaaan! A perfect landing indeed and he looks very proud of himself too! 🙂
    I can only imagine what you will come up with during the olympics, even if I love the sloppy bit… and please, ooh please, do post the phone doodles too!! 😀

  14. Nancy Lefko Says:

    you are amazing at drawing figures in motion….truly gifted….

  15. gina Says:

    yaaay for bunny! I’m glad you’re participating in this too, gonna check it daily haha!

  16. Marty-Crouz Says:

    peut-être juste ton avant dernier lapin qui a les oreilles en arrière alors qu’avec le mouvement elles devraient être vers l’avant, sinon il est drôle !
    Maybe just your fourth rabbit wich would have the ears forwards and not towards the back, but it’s very funny !

  17. studio lolo Says:

    That tuck N’ roll is flawless!!!!!!!! And not a hare out of place 🙂

  18. Mary Says:

    I give him a 10 and the gold medal! Cute bunny and very talented.


  19. […] über-talented, Gaia Bordicchia mentioned she was looking for my Olympic bunnies (here, here and here) this winter, of which there were none… up until this point. I’d like to thank her for […]


Leave a Reply

