21 day creative exercise-day 4

June 26, 2008

SUPER TOM

When Tom and I are goofing around and acting silly, he makes this funny face. He bares his teeth and pokes out his lower lip and… well, it’s hard to explain. Trust me, it’s hysterical… to me anyway. I call it the Super Hero face, because it reminds me of those retro cartoons, where the villain is all pointy and snidely and the hero has this impossibly, huge, toothy grin.

Aaaaaaanywho… it’s funny.

So, there I was, engaged in the exercise, thinking about Tom and the fact that it’s his birthday today and the above image emerged. I was having so much fun drawing it, I didn’t really worry about how technically correct the perspective was. That’s why it looks a bit out of whack… but it makes me giggle to look at it, so all is not lost! I was living in the sketching moment, if you will.

Whoo hooooo, it’s the 4th day of the exercise, it’s Friday and it’s Tom’s birthday! Life is good!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MY SUPER HERO!!!

9 Responses to “21 day creative exercise-day 4”

  1. AaronP Says:

    First again…..
    Where’s the spandex and the outsidey-underpants?
    He looks like he’s about to fly into a wall, or his mother-in-law wants him to eat the last piece of the pie she just cooked, and he’s as full as the bin before garbage day!
    Great pic, keep em’ comin’
    Take care, Aaron.


  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY SUPER TOM!!!!
    You are very lucky, you know? having such a talented and super funny girl that obviously loves you very much (mentions you in almost every post ;o))

    This is so cute, funny, really good and cute at the same time Linda. You are really on a roll with the exercise!! Proud of ya! :o)

  3. artseafartsea Says:

    He looks like he is trying to save himself from a nasty landing. Been there. Anyhoo, happy birthday to Tom! Great sketching by the by.

  4. Vickie Says:

    Happy Birthday Super Tom. Love the sketch. Keep up the good work on the challenge. Have a fun weekend.
    Vickie

  5. VisualKaos Says:

    My wife, who is just super-talented, thinks I am a superhero. Kinda. Sorta.
    I would be more than happy if she was just able to tolerate living with me.
    She does that and makes me breakfast in bed on my birthday.
    SHE is the superhero.
    I’m just the luckiest human alive.

  6. Bobo's slave Says:

    Gig gig gig, he looks real cute!

    Happy birthday Tom, I can read her love to you in between the lines, lucky you!


  7. Happy birthday super hero! Mine’s Sunday.
    Your so cute Linda when you talk about him!!!!

  8. Nancy Lefko Says:

    wonderful Super Hero sketch and many happy returns to your hero, Tom 🙂

  9. studio lolo Says:

    Is he wearing Chucks?? That’s my addiction, as I’ve mentioned before. Such a winning smile 😀


Leave a Reply

