bunniroo

July 30, 2008

Bunnirooism is a condition suffered by many bunnies in Australia. It is described as an identity crisis of sorts and can be quite a problem for the bunnies down under. Symptoms of bunnirooism can range from mild to extreme. In fact, at it’s worst, bunnies have been known to wake up inside strange pouches, completely disoriented, causing annoyance and agitation to the host kangaroo.

Experts are in disagreement about the validity of bunnirooism. Some claim this behavior is actually due to the pathological laziness in some bunnies, driving them to feign the condition in hopes of hitchhiking rides to Java Juice Bars and back to their respective hutches. This leaves the kangaroo host exhausted, but has significantly boosted sales at many juice bars in the country.

20 Responses to “bunniroo”

  1. kathyhare Says:

    Linda, I love visiting your blog your work always makes me really laugh, the kangeroo’s posture and expression are wonderful… πŸ™‚

  2. erin Says:

    too funny, I never thought to take my kangaroo down to the coffee shop, it’ll sure save money on gas, now where did I put that thing…


  3. Super sweet! Do they any relation to the music festival Bonaroo?

  4. bobo's slave Says:

    Heehee, looks like this bunny got a cab! Hey bunny, the carrots are quite convenient as the fare for the ride!

  5. Bruno Says:

    I love the color of your drawings. !!!
    Greeetings !!!!

  6. Bambi-really Says:

    I really hope he took all the carrots with him, carrot greens rotting in the back of a refrigerated vegetable drawer is one thing, but in a warm ‘roo pouch? Yikes.

    This is fantastic, the kangaroo looks duly unimpressed. Love your textures on these…


  7. Parasitic bunnies… that’s my nightmare for tonight.

    Look at the expression on that roo… not only does he look exhausted but he looks like he’d like to punt Mr. Bunny into tommorrow!
    Fun one Linda!

  8. Mary Says:

    Very clever bunny πŸ™‚ Very cute drawing and idea πŸ™‚ Love the expressions.

  9. Eric Barclay Says:

    Your characters are always well developed and so expressive, whether in color or black and white. I love visiting this blog- you do such amazing work.

  10. Jess Says:

    Another gem!x

  11. studio lolo Says:

    Subtle touches of pink on the cheeks of Roo and the buns nose, so perfect. I like how the bunny is being clear on where he wants to go, and the “give me a break” look on the roos face. You’re amazing! Perhaps you ought to add a meter to the pouch πŸ˜€

  12. tom barrett Says:

    I don’t think it’s laziness… but more economics. The kangaroo can hop 3 times as far in one jump than the rabbit, so it only makes sense to take advantage of that, especially in the hot Outback! Hopefully the bunnies offer to buy a juice in return for the ride.

    Great sketch as usual! πŸ™‚

  13. aaronpocock Says:

    Beautiful illustration Linda.I love the colours and the textures.

  14. emily Says:

    Oh dear! What a pickle of a problem! Always suspected those bunnies were up to no good!

  15. artseafartsea Says:

    Hilarious. How do u come up with this stuff? The hands on kangeroo’s hips is priceless.


  16. Well that is amazing! :o) Sooo cute!
    Who can blame them, right? I would love to get in one of those pouches too and just have them carry me.. hop hop hopping everywhere. Fun! :o)

  17. cata Says:

    OH!!!! I would like to be a bunnie if I could found a cute kangeroo like this.
    Bellissimo.
    Cata

  18. Gaia Says:

    I’ve been diagnosed with pathological laziness since I was born. Now I can proudly say I’m a reincarnation of one of those bunnies! πŸ™‚

    This is too good!! And I keep missing some of your posts, hope you don’t mind if I add you to my links? On very lazy days I don’t even use my blog reader…think I need a juice bar…:)

  19. Nancy Lefko Says:

    hmmmm….can I hitch a ride to the Java Juice Bar ?????

    great work…love their expressions !!

  20. Monica Says:

    What a great illustration AND story! That would make a really funny book, don’t you think? As usual, you just nailed their expressions and body language, it’s always a treat to see your work!


Leave a Reply

