bending over backwards

August 7, 2008

So I was sketching out yet another idiom and I got to thinking… hey, today is the opening ceremony for the Olympics. Despite the politics and controversy, ya just gotta love the Olympics and this opening ceremony promises to be spectacular! Can’t wait!

Anyway… about that idiom… ahem, when you inconvenience yourself to help another, you might say you are bending over backwards for that person. You might say that… if you are a drama queen, that is! Whining over it like that somewhat tarnishes the good deed, don’t you think. Get over it, huh?

Alright then.

Speaking of drama queens, my good friend Barnabus T. Bunniwell has selflessly agreed to demonstrate the act of bending over backwards on a balance beam, whilst showing us his national pride. Let’s give Barnabus a big hand.

Go U.S.A.!

14 Responses to “bending over backwards”

  1. Gaia Says:

    Ooh… this really makes my day! There’s nothing like waking up, have a nice cup of coffee and a good laugh with a new Idiom Olympics Bunny!
    They are fantasic! LOL

  2. emily Says:

    Idiom Olympics! hihi… sigh…
    Em bunnies really do it all…on occasion… um… iffy in grace… but they do have spirit, don’t they?
    (Can Barnabus hear me clapping from across the sea?)

  3. Mary Says:

    A perfect 10 for Barnabus from all the judges…even with the foot quiver! Yeah!!!! If I tried that on a balance beam, you would have to haul in the paramedics. I have great pride in those who can do these things for those of us who can’t. The opening and closing ceremonies are always my favorite parts. Barnabus deserves a front row seat after that great show.

  4. erin Says:

    Yes another perfect 10 from the judges down here in Crazystan!

    I always hated doing the beam as a kid, it still scares me to this day, maybe if I had feet like Barnabus I would be more balanced, well, probably not.

    USA! USA!

  5. sketched out Says:

    I thank you and Barnabus thanks you.

    The Olympics this year are going to be especially exciting for me, since I now have so many blogger buddies from all over the world! Pretty awesome!

    That said, a shout out to Sweden and Italy for Emily and Gaia… and for Mary and Erin wooo woooo U.S.A.!

  6. aaronpocock Says:

    ‘Oh say can you seeeeeeeeeeeeee’ (anthemly plink plinking…)
    Bunnies doing his country proud, waving the flag of the forefathers etc.
    Those great big feet of his make me chuckle every time.
    Cool pic Linda.

  7. studio lolo Says:

    You are one of the few who’s drawings make me laugh out loud! Everything is perfect in this drawing…the tail is tucked in right where it should be, and the foot quiver is, well, perfect too! You SO rock!
    I can’t help but wanna sing “Oh Canada” though ’cause I’m Canadian, but yet so…so…American!
    (You have to admit Canada has an awesome anthem.)

    Thanks for the fantabulous birthday post 🙂 What? it’s NOT all about me??


  8. yup the olympics and it was a spectacular opening! what about sumo wrestlers, they shold be in the olympics, don’t you think?

  9. artseafartsea Says:

    Very cute amd appropo. I got some shots of the opening ceremony. I will put them up on Flickr.

  10. Megan Says:

    Wow! Mr. Bunniwell is certainly quite limber! 🙂 Hehe love the illustration!

  11. eli Says:

    I’m clapping with one hand, whilst doing a backbend, take that Barnabus! Very cute, I’ll give Barn a 10!

  12. kim Says:

    Ha! I could never do that. Bunny-boy is quite special!

  13. Nancy Lefko Says:

    Barnabus is doing a great job !!! I love his little foot-wiggle !! 🙂


  14. […] buddy, the über-talented, Gaia Bordicchia mentioned she was looking for my Olympic bunnies (here, here and here) this winter, of which there were none… up until this point. I’d like […]


Leave a Reply

