detached

August 18, 2008

I’m feeling a bit detached this week.

Hanging out at the mall this weekend, I observed the legions of fellow detached humans and scrawled out a very rough impression.

Detached? Or are they? I don’t know anymore. They seem to be attached to someone, but certainly not the one they are physically with.

What do you think?

25 Responses to “detached”

  1. Bella Sinclair Says:

    Yeah, right?! Definitely guilty of this. Well, my husband is, anyway. We go out to dinner, and he’s glued to his blackberry. Great sketch, and wonderfully observant of you!

  2. kathyhare Says:

    wonderfully observed Linda, we live in a crazy world.. 🙂

  3. din Says:

    actually, why not? seems like a really sweet thing… like, sharing their sweet love with others… letting them in into their private personal net of love…
    attached, yet detached…?

    love the sweet simplicity of the sketch… thanx linda! :o)

  4. Mary Says:

    Detached seems the perfect word to me! Does anyone do anything without a cell phone plastered to their ear any more?? How can so many people have so much to say all the time? And why does everyone else have to listen to them say it? This drawing shows how little we value who we are with and how are minds are always somewhere else! I think if all the cell phones stopped working suddenly, that there would be a look of total bewilderment and panic on every face.

  5. Angela Says:

    What gets me is when I see this on the nature trails now. Is no place sacred?!

    Well, at least these two are still holding hands so they haven’t completely lost that corporeal connection. I love the pose of the girl. 🙂

  6. artseafartsea Says:

    You said it sister. Great sketch!

  7. Katherine Says:

    Great sketch and so true. It’s as if humans cannot communicate without a device in their hands. I’m talking about family and friends.


  8. I’ve often told Em, my older daughter, that if she used a little duct tape… she’d never have to detach herself from that cell phone.
    A little hard to send a text message though. lol!
    Great, lively sketch!

    Thanks for for comments and virtual hug.

  9. studio lolo Says:

    Aaaggghhh!!!! One of my BIGGEST peeves! I really think a lot of folks have lost the meaning of ‘true connection.’ I see so many couples out to dinner and they don’t say a word to each other. People in traffic with the phone attached to their ears going ten miles an hour as if slowing down will make them understand them better! Or in grocery stores walking down the aisles telling the person on the other end..”I’m walking down the aisle now. Oh, here’s the ketchup. Do we need ketchup? Okay, I’m walking to the other aisle now.” But my biggest rant is about the ones who ruin my quiet space on the beach or the walking path by shouting above the sound of the ocean. And the ones with cigarettes make me roll my eyes as I walk through their cloud of cancerous air while they’re having their conference calls on MY PATH!!!! (How dare they?) Honestly, I’ve stopped and looked at the cell phone abusing nature lovers and said “You’re missing the whole point of this” and moved on. I feel better now 🙂
    Welcome back Sketchie!!

  10. bobo's slave Says:

    A real true-life sketch, love how you draw the lady.

  11. dot Says:

    heh, so true. Great ‘slice of life’ sketch!

  12. Faruffa Says:

    You are right Linda: detached when near … connected when far!?
    Joys and sorrows of technology :o)

  13. Vickie Says:

    It’s a great, quick impression of reality today. When my DH got his blackberry my sons had to get after him when we went out to dinner to put it away and talk to us. The other crazy new technology is the bluetooth which makes people appear to be talking to themselves. I think they look like Star Trek Borg implants. Not to say that someday I won’t find myself as a member of the Borg collective.

  14. aaronpocock Says:

    great sketch Linda!
    Good to see you back!!! Hope all is well with you.

  15. emily Says:

    I think it’s kind of cute to see kids sending each other text messages… little secrets( not always of a good nature) feels like a sci-fi version of the paper notes I wrote as a young student… but I agree sometimes cells are just rude!

  16. erin Says:

    So, do you think they’re talking to each other on the phone?

    Hey I left you a little something on my blog for all you do to inspire and entertain.


  17. hmmm that’s a really good point Linda! I don’t know for sure but what i know is that I, as usual, love your sketch :o)

    Sorry I’ve been a bit “detached” from your blog lately. When I’m not at home the routine is kind of different you know? But I do miss it :o)

  18. conniemartin Says:

    Another gorgeous sketch. I think they are phoning people and telling them how wonderful their partner (attached) is. The saddest thing I’ve seen is a mother on the cell phone while breast-feeding her infant.

  19. Kate Says:

    Yes, so true. My mom has been gone 11 years now, and I often think she would be amazed and also a bit troubled by the crowds of zombies walking around with cell phones shoved in their ears. It’s so weird to me that this is the new normal.

  20. Pickledog Says:

    Great concept! It is ironic how technology that was intended to bring people closer contact has pushed people further apart.

  21. Gaia Says:

    Very true… and I often feel detached from the rest, since I hardly ever use my cellphone. It’s always off, my friends tell me I use it like a portable phone boot. So none can really call me! LOL
    Sad but true!! 😀

  22. Gaia Says:

    forgot… I LOVE the girl’s pose!! 🙂


  23. i think it’s great, the lines are just perfect. young love….sigh….

  24. Mike Says:

    Thanks for visting and making your way to the rest of my blog!

    I really like the lines and energy in this piece…

  25. Meg Says:

    TOO true!! Great sketch. 🙂


Leave a Reply

