hallowiener dog

October 16, 2008

Sick of the ubiquitous Halloween theme yet? Not me, I’m loving every minute of it. Just can’t get enough pumpkins, witches, candy corn and, of course, the ever popular, Hallowiener dog.

However, everyone has their limits. For instance, I certainly don’t envy the employees of Rite Aid or any of those Halloween specialty stores. You know, the stores that, along with the naughty nurse and sexy cop costumes, sell witches complete with flashing red eyes and irritating cackle. They also sell candy dishes with the skeleton hand, grabbing at you as you reach for peanut M&M’s or Snickers, chortling maniacally. (Hmmm, could that possibly work as behavioral mod for us Halloweencandiaholics?)

Anywho, I can just imagine, every day, these long-suffering employees going just a tiny bit more mad. Slowly but surely, being pushed to the very brink of sanity. Then… the gazillionth customer enters and ping, absentmindedly pushes a button that unleashes that one last witch cackle, that one last baleful ghostly moan or one last banshee scream, and SNAP!!

Employee goes ghostal!

Now there’s a scary thought for ya.

So, take heed, all ye who enter the inner sanctum of Halloween retail. Step lightly and resist the temptation to push yonder button, lest you unleash hell upon thee.

Ahem, so anyway, I thought I was super clever coming up with Halloweiner Dog last year, when I first posted this. That is, until I insisted on Googling it, to make sure it was, in fact, an original idea. Turns out, the whole freaking World Wide Web is lousy with Halloweiner Dogs. In fact there’s even a children’s book called Halloweiner.

Who knew?

15 Responses to “hallowiener dog”


  1. He just perfect for the Annual Halloweiner Dog Costume Contest! He’d take first place… ok second maybe… to the dog in the hot dog bun!!
    Oh and… I’m the one in the isle that pushes every button on the “try me” displays just to watch all those skeleton hands move in synchronized snatching!

    Keep those Halloween sketchies coming girl!

  2. deb Says:

    Well, I’ve been stalking your blog for I don’t know how long. Guess it’s about time to come clean and leave a comment…you are so unbelievably talented! Love your art, sense of humor and your writing. Would you mind blogging more often so I get a fix everyday??? :o)

  3. Pickledog Says:

    I will never be sick of Halloween, and especially Hallowiener Dogs! I have been quietly filling my illustrations with Halloween/autumn propaganda this month as well. Though it was a stretch this week with strings.

    Awesome fantastic work! It doesn’t matter there are other Hallowiener Dawgs out there. None could look as sweet as this one wearing a cape and mask.

    Viva Halloween!


  4. Awww I love Hallowiener!!

    I don’t care if there are gazillion of hallowieners out there… your Hallowiener is THE one. He is super adorable, has an attitude, and wears a collar/cape one of a kind in the world. He is by far the cutest Hallowiener out there.. and if someone disagrees then they better come talk to me! ;o)

  5. valgalart Says:

    i still think yer a genius 😛

  6. chickengirl Says:

    I certainly love YOUR version of Halloweiner… there can be more than one… why not?!? He looks super cute ready for treats.

    Halloween is such a great holiday, but I’m with you there in that I don’t envy the employees that have to work at those stores…..

  7. eli Says:

    Holla Wienerdog! That’s how we say hello in my hood.

    (yes, that was odd and random)

  8. Faruffa Says:

    Oh Linda, I would like to have a dog like this: nice and ironic!!!

  9. Mary Says:

    It just shows that your mind is as clever as all those others 🙂 And he is a very cute Halloweiner dog!

  10. studio lolo Says:

    Employees gone “Ghostal!!!!!” That’s a really good one:D
    And since there’s already a million Halloweiners out there as well as a book, I guess that makes you “late!”
    But nobody, and I mean NO-Buh-Dee does a Halloweiner like you 🙂

  11. emily Says:

    My roommate almost died laughing when he saw your halloweiner dog… well honestly so did I… (and even if the net is lousy with them yours was my first!)

  12. tlchang Says:

    Yes – he is terrific. (Love your characters).

    Even worse for retail are all the motion activated cacklers that go off continuously as customers stroll by. They make me crazy just being in shopping for the short term. I can’t imagine trying to work through that!

  13. Vickie Says:

    Well he’s the first one I’ve ever seen. So you are an original to me. I guess I don’t get out enough. He’s great and he knows it.

  14. artseafartsea Says:

    He’s adorable!

  15. yoon see Says:

    Super cute hallowiener dog with his super cool suit.
    This looks more like a flying dog with a small scarf behind!
    Look the way he is begging for food.
    Ha..Ha…


Leave a Reply

