I’m late! I’m late! I’m late!

October 20, 2008

From: Alice In Wonderland
Music: Sammy Fain
Lyrics: Bob Hilliard

I’m Late! I’m Late! For a very important date!
No time to say hello, goodbye!

I’m late!
I’m late!
I’m late!

And when I wave, I lose the time I save.
My fuzzy ears and whiskers
took me too much time to shave.

I run and then I hop, hop, hop,
I wish that I could fly.
Theres danger if I dare to stop and heres the reason why…

You see I’m overdue. I’m in a rabbit stew,
Cant even say goodbye, hello,

I’m late!
I’m late!
I’m late!

Good morning Mister Chatterbox,
I’d love to stoop and chatter,
but in six and seven eighth minutes
I must meet with the mad hatter
the mad, mad, mad, mad Hatter.

We must chat about a very important matter.
I’m off to see the queen of hearts,
who lives up in the palace,
and the very moment I’m through with her,
I’ve got a date with Alice.
I cant be late for Alice
or the queen of hearts who lives up in the palace.

I’M LATE!

……………………………………..

The Illustration Friday theme this week is “Late.”Β 
Thanks Laurel of Studio Lolo for the cool idea to do the Alice in Wonderland bunny!Β 

34 Responses to “I’m late! I’m late! I’m late!”


  1. I love Alice in Wonderland, and this is a perfect depiction of the White Rabbit. Nicely done!

  2. Jenn D. Says:

    Your drawing hand is gifted! The movement is wonderful and expression on the rabbit is frantic without becoming exaggerated.


  3. Of course! This is perfect! And Alice in Wonderland is one of my all-time favorites. Excellent illo. You would think with those feet, he’ll get there in no time. πŸ˜€

  4. Mary Beth Says:

    Ahh! the story of my life! And that’s usually how I look (minus the umbrella) every morning as I’m tearing out the door:)


  5. My favorite part of Alice and wonderland.

    I love his stripey jacket with the polka spot collar…(Liv’s word)…. Tre chic!

  6. Vickie Says:

    The white rabbit is a perfect character to pick for “Late”. Of course, yours is very well done and funny.
    I also like your Halloweener dog in your previous post.
    He’s sure to save the day.

  7. studio lolo Says:

    You did it!!!! I knew he would ROCK, I just knew it!!
    You can make anything seem like an original idea. You always make it your own πŸ™‚
    He’s ever so dapper πŸ˜‰

  8. Mary Says:

    Sigh….just think how much more enjoyable life could be if we’d toss all the watches in the trash and stopped hurrying…and being late! Adorable drawing of a stressed out bunny.

  9. erin Says:

    um, rabbit stew! so good (the illo I mean) as is the hallo-weenie dog too cute!

  10. carli Says:

    great illustration. I love his expression

  11. cobol Says:

    wonderful dynamic illustration, nicely done

  12. Indigene Says:

    Those feet are great! lol! That rabbit looks panic-stricken…excellent expressive work.

    http://www.indigeneartforms.blogspot.com

  13. kathyhare Says:

    brilliant! he really is in a hurry! πŸ™‚

  14. Faruffa Says:

    Bello bello bellissimo!!!
    I adore the White Rabbit and your interpretation is perfect, gorgeous :o)

  15. theartofpuro Says:

    Funny,funny,funny
    Love the idea and his expression

  16. deb Says:

    Very cute, great idea. Love the background, like a thick cloud of dust.
    Oh and thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving such a nice comment! :o)


  17. Wonderful illo. Beautiful!

  18. artseafartsea Says:

    Great theme and illo. Gotta love that rabbit!


  19. It really looks like this bunny is in a great hurry the way you’ve drawn him! Fabulous!

  20. get zapped Says:

    Fantastic take on a classic theme!

  21. yoon see Says:

    Great movement swing here! Very good responde to the late topic.
    Yeah, it’s getting late, on I dash…on the go mode.

  22. chickengirl Says:

    your bunny works perfectly with this song!! yay!

  23. cata Says:

    OH! I love Alice in wonderland!
    Fantastic bunny!
    Love the movement of your illos!
    Cata

  24. eugeniagina Says:

    ooh, I would like to hear the music, you make me feel like a curious rabbit right now..

  25. bobo Says:

    Great bunny, great great illustration and great great great Linda! Mwaaaaahhh!


  26. Awesome as always Linda! I love the purple background too, very cool :o)

  27. Monica Says:

    When I first learned the topic of the week, “Late” I thought of bunnies and Alice in Wonderland. πŸ™‚ And I just knew you were the one to illustrated that character, with your adorable, funny and truly expressive bunnies. He’s perfect!

    You leave the nicest comments, Linda, I really appreciated it coming from someone as talented as you!

    Oh, and I think YOUR Halloweiner dog is the best!

  28. valgalart Says:

    How perfect! The funny thing is I did a lot of musical theatre and every time I see this word that song plays in my brain! I’m so glad you captured it and you really did good πŸ™‚ I even did musical theatre at College of the Canyons…

  29. Kay Says:

    Nice and splendid!


  30. One of my favourite characters of all time and this is a beautiful verion; I love your watery background. Having been around for the original song I find I can still sing along!

  31. Nancy Lefko Says:

    there’s no one that can draw a bunny like you can, Linda…I love them all !!! πŸ™‚

  32. kim Says:

    Perfection in concept!!

  33. TA Vande Says:

    I woke up this morning with this song going though my mind. This was a record I had as a child- 45 years ago -and I remembered all but one line of the song.

    thanks for making these lyrics available; there are more kids that will want to learn this catchy song!


Leave a Reply

