have yourself…

December 15, 2008

…  a rambunctious little Christmas…or Chrismahannakwanza, as I like to call it.

Whatever holiday you celebrate or choose not to celebrate this winter, I hope it’s the happiest ever!!

Christmas is the holiday Tom and I both grew up with and still enjoy with gusto, although I’d never turn down an invitation or opportunity to participate in a Hannukah, Kwanza or any other holiday celebration. The more opportunities to hang out with friends, eat (food you would never dream of eating the rest of the year due to sheer terror of heart failure,) or light candles, the better!

For us Christmassy types, many towns in the U.S. have what they call Candy Cane Lane, or a Candy Cane Lane-like street, where every blade of grass on every lawn of every house is blinking, strobing or sparkling with copious amounts of holiday lights and decorations. However, in Valencia, CA the entire town is pretty much a Candy Cane Lane.

Yes folks, Christmas threw up on our town.

What we lack in the beauty and wonder of snowfall, we more than make up with a king’s ransom of an and electric bill and Home Depot receipt.

Tom and I bring up the rear with a token strand of red lights tacked lovingly across the front of our house. We tell ourselves we’re trying to be green, but really, we’re just too lazy busy. Why, we’ve got “Daily Show” reruns to watch.

But you know, as excessive as all the lights, giant blow up snowglobes, and creepy animated santas are, there’s nothing Tom and I like better than taking a detour on the way home from work to gawk at the handiwork of our zealous neighbors.

It’s the closest thing to tradition we have in our suburban town, and we’ve grown to love it.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Above is a an image I created in Illustrator and finished in Photoshop for my 2002 Christmas card. Thought I’d try to get a little more mileage out of it by posting it last year. This year the holiday season has been so rambunctious I’m now squeezing every last drop of mileage by reposting it this year! 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

29 Responses to “have yourself…”


  1. You are hysterical!!! Yes, I find I am also too…ahem…busy during the holidays to decorate much. Still, I like to gawk, and then I enjoy the feeling of relief I get when I realize I won’t be hit with a huge electric bill. I LOVE this Santa. I’m glad you let him out to play again!

  2. Andy M. Says:

    This is a perfect illustration! It belongs on a Christmas card. Great job! 🙂

  3. Mary Says:

    What a lovely card illustration! Merry Christmas to you, too. I’ve had a good year of enjoyment from your blog 🙂 I love your expression about Christmas throwing up on your town…funny!…because I’m posting one house tomorrow that Christmas “throws up on” every year in our town.


  4. Great image. I’m very impressed with your blog snow too!

  5. Indigene Says:

    Great image and so perfect for the holidays!

  6. tlchang Says:

    Isn’t it kind of like recycling, and therefore a very ‘green’ thing to do – to repost and reuse older illustrations? 🙂 I certainly think so!

    (and hey! It’s even snowing in your comments section. I may *never* get warm! MORE tea!)

  7. Jess Says:

    It’s a new picture to me! It’s perfect for the Rambunctious theme too!x


  8. What a cute Santa. Santas normally scare the sh*t out of me bu this Santa could gladly come over to my place and leave some gifts 😛

  9. Kat Says:

    Wow…how did you make the snow fall like that. I think I’ll just stick to drawing. Love love love the illustration. So delightful.


  10. Hmmm… barf and christmas in the same sentence…. Aahhh holiday memories!!!! LOL!

    We just took the tour of Christmas lights last night with Liv. Three year olds keep it pretty jolly! She was in search of the Grinch.
    Luckily someone was kind enough to have one staked in their lawn just for her.

    Love your Santa image. I’ve not worked in illustrator but I’m going to try it if things ever slow down!

  11. emila Says:

    Wow! great illustration! love it!

  12. erin Says:

    love the snow! We finally got our one anemic strand of lights up and it poured down rain. My husband was so afraid it would short-out and burn down the house that he unplugged it. Now our house sits alone in darkness on our Griswald-esc block.

  13. studio lolo Says:

    The big guy is so light on his feet!!! oooh, I just had to bite my tongue because I had an off-color joke in my head. eek!

    Our Candy Cane Lane is dark this year. We never go (too many screaming little people for me) but I was still surprised to see it dark. Maybe more and more people are trying to conserve. Or maybe they’re just trying to spare the neighbors!
    We have a tree this year…first one in 8 years! And I have blue and white outside lights kind of draped around my big flower pots. They look like hanging jewels…pretty.
    Aaaaaanyhoodle, I’ve got the hots for this Santa 🙂 There, I said it.

  14. yoon see Says:

    I am feeling top of the world when I see my childhood idol Santa sending great greetings to all in such cute & funny way!
    Yeah, my burden instantly lighten a lot. thanks.
    “Merry little Christmas and let my heart be light!”
    Same to you too:)


  15. Wonderful illustration! Excellent!


  16. Love your Santa! Beautiful work.


  17. i just LOOOVE it!! and it’s snowing here, such a fine winter mood! merry christmas to you!


  18. I love your Christmas card Linda!! A big hug to you and Tom on this special Christmas!

    xo
    Ali

  19. theartofpuro Says:

    Wonderful and a Happy Xmas to you

  20. artseafartsea Says:

    Love this Santa. Always a cute and funny one.

  21. dot Says:

    love the santa… hey wait… is the whole screen snowing? too cool 🙂


  22. Each year I wait to see what new santa will appear. Everyone has their own wonderful version and I have to say, ” I adore him!” He is just wonderful and happy. He is so shaped just like me! he he he he. His tiny little ankles tells all! I love your style and I can feel the joy coming off of him. Tis the Season to be jolly! This is GREATTTTT!

  23. Faruffa Says:

    I love this one, the lightness of Santa and his ruddy face are gorgeous!!!

  24. valgalart Says:

    Your skating santa is a wondrous delight! And it’s snowing on your blog!!! I have lived the xmas you describe my whole life and this made me laugh and smile. I have a modest string of lights myself 🙂

  25. Monica Says:

    Wow, this is one adorable (and quite a good skater) Santa! What a lovely card, I’m so glad you posted it again. And I LOVE the snow effect, how did you do it?

    I tend to get homesick (and always cold — you know, it’s supposed to be hot around Christmas time. Yep, one goes to the beach on Christmas Day in Rio!), but your card cheered me up! 🙂

  26. Sophie Says:

    Very cute illustration! I’d love to skate with santa :).

    Sounds like you live in a very fun and festive town! Merry Christmas :D!

  27. helena Says:

    Hej, Linda, it has been a long while but I thought I’d drop by in between my truffle-making. You’d probably not find a single religious cell in me but Christmas has that special effect : madly making joyful reunions or spreading well wishes to everyone we know. I guess to make up for the rest of the year when I go into some sort of anti-social hibernation. May you and your family have a very Merry Christmas and may the new year bring good (or even better) tidings. 🙂

  28. chickengirl Says:

    Just wanted to drop by to say Merry Christmas!! 🙂

  29. Sam Says:

    Very lovely! Happy Holidays to you too!


Leave a Reply

