out on a limb

February 2, 2009

hang-in-there2

No, I’m not speaking of Shirley MacLaine’s New Age novel from the 80’s.

Nope, not talking about risk taking.

In fact, I believe “hanging by a thread” might be a more appropriate term, (if you’ll allow me to be a bit melodramatic.) To put it in more realistic and simple terms, I’ve been procrastinating this whole weekend and am now scrambling to get all my illustration work done, including this here post. Trying to get it all done before getting back to the old day job tomorrow morning.

It’s all just part of my flawed ability to manage time.

However, everything tends to come together nicely in the end, with little or no injury and my sanity somewhat intact. In fact, I seem to do my best under pressure of looming deadlines. So really, no complaints, just a little kitty hanging on a limb, bearing an expression that mimics mine at the moment.

I’m going to resist telling you that I’m “hanging in there”, but really, we’ll both be fine. Like all felines, he’ll land on his feet, and I’m pretty sure I will as well.

25 Responses to “out on a limb”

  1. Vicki Says:

    You, too?
    Me, too!
    Rats! (Uh, er . . . Cats?)

  2. Nahllenia Says:

    Love the idea of ‘hanging in there’especially since it is exactly how I feel right now. And unlike you, who did a wonderful illo under pressure, I haven”t quite gotten round to it.
    Good job.

  3. Liora Says:

    Love your style! Mega cute and well-drawn.

  4. Jess Says:

    Hi Linda, Good to see you here and busy! I’ve added to your burden by giving you a Blog Award hehe! :)x


  5. Aaaaah, the art of procrastination. Nothing like good ol’ deadlines to get those creative juices flowing. Well, I’m glad you and kitty will both have good landings. Great illo! The birds silently mock him. 🙂


  6. That cat needs some curly red hair…lol!

    I love the way you draw your cats with all their anatomical structures intact…for in reality we all know… that a cat doesn’t mind at all!

    I hope the pace will soon slow down and you’ll get some time for YOU!…rememeber cats are the ones with nine lives! Hang in there girl!

  7. studio lolo Says:

    You’re preachin’ to the choir sista!!!
    This is awesome though! Pressure becomes you 🙂

    Time management? I’ve been up for 2 hours and haven’t moved from this seat unless it was to refill my coffee cup. The dog’s eyeballs are floating as her bladder expands. Bad mommy!
    This computer has to stop calling my name 😉

  8. erin Says:

    my husband calls it the “erin-time-continuum” the less time there is the more I get done. I LOVE the kitten-toes, now I have to go find my cat to bug her.


  9. he he, beutiful illo, ya for the kitty this is not working ok. what would happen to kitty. ..

  10. Indigene Says:

    Lol! It’s a great drawing…and I know exactly what you mean!

  11. theartofpuro Says:

    Great drawing…love his expression

  12. Sonia Says:

    So cute! The draw is great and I really love the way you use colour.

  13. laurandros Says:

    I really like this soft look, and the cat character is designed really well, I like him.

  14. artseafartsea Says:

    This cat character is always good for a laff. Love it!

  15. artseafartsea Says:

    Oh yeah, the birds are hysterical too….

  16. yoon see Says:

    I wonder why the birds are so comfortable staring out there just because the cat is falling:) He…He..

  17. cata Says:

    OH! I love him!!!!!
    He has a great expression…and I know exactly what you mean!
    Cata

  18. Mary Says:

    Love it! I can see that the birds know the outcome, too and are not the least worried about being caught 🙂 Glad to know that both you and the kitty will land on your feet 🙂

  19. Peter Breese Says:

    Wonderful illustration, good luck on your deadlines!

  20. dot Says:

    I love him! great perspective… and those birds are too cute too.

  21. emily Says:

    “They are coming to take me away hihi…haha hoho..” I’ve decidedly discovered that illustrating is more of a compulsion that a healthy choice… but oh so wonderful!!! And besides where would we be without your kitty toes!

  22. Vanessa Says:

    Yeah we all feel that way from time to time, sometimes too often LOL. Your illo is so cute!

  23. tlchang Says:

    Good hanging in (what other alternative do we have, really? nothing good!)

    I love the ‘clover feet’ on this kitty.


  24. oh it’s just so so beautiful! you MUST make a book with your awesome cats!!!


Leave a Reply

