Hitting the Bull’s Eye

March 2, 2009

bullseye_color2

or

“It’s all breezy, fun and games until someone loses an eye!”
………………………………………………………………………………….

This week’s Illustration Friday word is “breezy” and my submission is a bit of a stretch, but hey, it works… no?

So anyway, a bull’s-eye is the center of a target in both archery and darts. The shot taken to achieve this feat is called hitting the bull’s-eye.

Although originally a sports term, bull’s-eye can be used for pretty much any design or pattern utilizing concentric circles. Bull’s-eye can also be used to describe a lens of short focal length, a circular window, a piece of glass inserted into a ship’s deck, or those round, striped mints you stuff into your pockets when the waitress isn’t looking, as you leave the restaurant. That’s right, I know you do.

Being quite the versatile idiom, “hitting the bull’s-eye” along with “hit the mark” and “hit the nail on the head” is used when someone or something is absolutely correct. For example: “Honey, your remark about my butt looking fat in these jeans really hit the bull’s-eye. Now here’s your pillow. Enjoy sleeping on the couch tonight.”

Anywho… bull’s-eye… versatile… oh yes, the origin… no luck there. Although it may have been used since the 17th century, the etymology seems to be a mystery. At least none of my sophisticated sources (Google) has revealed anything.

I do have one question however. Why a bull’s eye? Why not a fish, bird or, I don’t know, a moose eye? Perhaps a dinosaur’s eye? Something to think about on some breezy, Spring evening, while sipping a nice fizzy, champagne cocktail and you’ve nothing more important to ponder.

27 Responses to “Hitting the Bull’s Eye”

  1. jack foster Says:

    Great pic. Love the bull’s expression

  2. wedgienet Says:

    at least Bunny didn’t do it on purpose! Once again, great work!

  3. CharlieCreek Says:

    nice idea, love the ‘bulls eye’ and the take on breezy

  4. Sara Gancho Says:

    hihi 🙂 fun illustration! This is a wonderfull detailed and expressive illustration! I really like it!

  5. Jess Says:

    Ouch!! Funny picture though ;)x

  6. sara Says:

    Ha! I love the bunny’s face expression, very funny concept, like the bully too, good job!


  7. Ha Ha!! Very amusing – great illustration and I loved reading the post too!


  8. Bunny… you have some splainin to do!!!!!

    I know it was an accident….but ouch!!!

    You crack me up Linda…Funny idea


  9. HAHA! OMG, girl, you are too funny! This really hit the nail on the head.

    Oop, are we not using that term this week?

    Love, love, love the little “ow” and that menacing stare. As for why it’s called bullseye, I dunno. Maybe it has to do with the red rings, and how it looks like an angry bull’s eye when he sees red in the ring?

  10. valgalart Says:

    yes, a breezy Spring night, like last night? And I am with you on this, why a sweet bull? This is wonderful 🙂

  11. theartofpuro Says:

    Yees is true…:)
    Love it ,so funny ,poor bull

  12. artseafartsea Says:

    Hilarious! Their expressions are priceless.

  13. froggie Says:

    OWWWWWWWW!!!!! ok, that reeeaally looks like it would hurt. and, he’s a big bull, so he should be able to take something like that lil pop gun, but, still….owwwwww….

    awesome, sketchie! thanks for the visits you busy lil thing, which is GOOD we all say, these days! :))

  14. chickengirl Says:

    Love all the facial expressions…and the little “ow” its funny as heck!!!!

  15. Eric Barclay Says:

    I love that bull and the ‘ow’. Their expressions are so perfect.

  16. Mary Says:

    LOL! I do love your sense of humor as well as your drawings. Thanks for my laugh for today! Now you have me curious….why indeed a bull’s eye???

  17. Angela Says:

    Oh Linda, I just busted out laughing when I saw this!!! The world would be a dull place without your wonderfully clever humor. I can’t wait to someday buy a book with all of these. I love the bunny nail biting, and that bull wince, and those sketchy flowers.

  18. dot Says:

    too funny.. .the bull is just faboo!

  19. Leonie Says:

    hihi, poor rabbit! Great expressions!

  20. Faruffa Says:

    Fantastic, so rich of humor, a great piece Linda!!!
    The expressions of these are gorgeous and hilarious :o)

  21. Bee Says:

    Fantastic scene and wonderful art work. The expression on bunnys face is priceless 🙂

  22. studio lolo Says:

    What the????? How the hell did I miss a whole week of you? I’m such a bad bad friend. Crap.

    This is wonderful! Why is he being a bad bunny today? Poor bull has an owie now 😦
    Buns better run before his left rear foot becomes a keychain!

    I miss you. We’ll catch up soon;)

  23. dot Says:

    Hey, did you ever send me your address? I have a prize for you for the anti-valentines contest. email me!

  24. aaronp Says:

    Fantastic…. Corny (but in a good way)!!!!

  25. Loni Edwards Says:

    Haha! This is great! Thanks for the giggle 🙂


  26. That’s hilarious. I love your style!!!

  27. yoon see Says:

    Very origial idea, fun fun fun!


Leave a Reply

