hollow

July 14, 2009

raccoon2_rev

A while back I took this little quiz on the “Golden Compass” movie website. After taking said quiz one finds out their “animal” totem or “daemon”. Turns out mine is a raccoon. Something about being modest, assertive, spontaneous and shy. (heh!) So, that coupled with the fact that we’ve also had a wee visitor of the masked variety these past four nights in a row in our backyard, I figured I had to post this little critter.

Why he’s bowling, I’m not really sure. Seemed like a good idea at the time. I figured, if I had a little raccoon spirit following me around as a companion, he’d probably be the bowling type. Besides, raccoons, not having the most athletic bodies in the forest, would likely go for bowling as a passtime, given the option.

Ok, what this has to do with the Illustration Friday theme, “hollow” is a mystery to me. Unless you consider that the bowling ball has three finger holes hollowed out in them. No. Ok, how about, it’s the only thing my hollow brain could come up with?

Uh huh, I knew you would buy that one.

25 Responses to “hollow”

  1. Vicki Says:

    Cutest raccoon!

  2. Indigene Says:

    Lol! This is hilarious! I love his expression and the movement in the piece!


  3. He is really great! The expression is so good.

  4. Vhrsti Says:

    I agree with Indigene. In addition to that – love the gently colors!


  5. I love this little critter! He looks like he’s having a ball (no pun intended!)

  6. tom barrett Says:

    great little raccoon nonetheless…

    We had one in our yard who was just as persistent. Trying to get at the cats’ food dishes, he did not appear afraid of us. I’d scare him off, but he would just go around to the other side of our shed and try again. Cute and funny little critter, but wasn’t about to get too close to him!

  7. Cheryl Lynn Says:

    This is hysterical, but your brain is ANYTHING but hollow, HA HA! It so full of the whimsical and the hilarious! That’s why I enjoy stopping by your blog. It really makes me smile!

    Have a great day, lovely lady!

  8. julia&bobo Says:

    It’s always fun reading your post! I love this little critter, perfect posture to bowl!
    Love this little one in Tom’s photo as well, great shot!

  9. Sean Ashby Says:

    Well, regardless of the theme, I dig it! I love the texture, and forest animals doing human stuff? Comedy gold. The sillier the better. Great job!

  10. bobo&julia Says:

    I love this little critter, perfect posture to bowl!
    Love this little one in Tom’s photo as well, great shot!

  11. zari Says:

    what a cute raccoon! great expresion and movement…love it!

  12. Holly Main Says:

    Love your bowling raccoon! Great illustration 🙂

  13. deborah mori Says:

    Love your raccoon, no matter how he made it to this page. Love your illustration style!


  14. Bought it… lock, stock and barrel!
    Now if you change your profile pic to one with a black mask and a fuzzy striped tail I’ll know you’ve gone racoon crazy… but it would be cute!!

    He’s a sweetie and a darn fine bowler too!

  15. artseafartsea Says:

    Very cute.

  16. Anwar Says:

    Why is he so cute!? I’m stunned stupid by the cuteness of this illustration. Great job!


  17. beautiful work on your blog! nice characters-I can really tell how much you enjoy drawing animals.

  18. Vicki Says:

    🙂

  19. shirley Says:

    Love your style – the illustration is priceless, the text cracks me up..you are so creative! I think hollow bowling ball holes works just fine as an explanation.

  20. Mary Says:

    Brilliant – like it!

  21. Nancy Lefko Says:

    fabulous action shot !!

  22. Jody Says:

    Linda,

    May I contact you, about single logo with your style of art above?

    Thanks,
    Jody

  23. Mary Says:

    LOL! I love the idea of a raccoon bowling. What an imagination you have. I wouldn’t mind tossing a bowling ball at the ones that raid my feeders at night. Maybe if they took up bowling they would leave my suet alone.

  24. tlchang Says:

    Your raccoon is darling. The ones in my backyard want to eat my chickens, which lessens their appeal greatly.

  25. studio lolo Says:

    I think anyone that likes bowling has a hollow head!

    I love your little guy. I’ll take a peek at the photos even though Pacific Grove has turned me off completely to these guys. I never thought I’d say that about any animal, but they’re the size of cars out there and mean as the devil!


Leave a Reply

