rare as hen’s teeth

October 18, 2009

hen-teeth

While gazing at herself in the mirror this morning, Henrietta was frozen with a sense of pride at being one of the rare hens with teeth.
………………………………………………………………….
A bit of a stretch perhaps, what with the Illustration Friday’s word of the week being “frozen.” But being a relatively new user of a Wacom tablet and playing around with Photoshop brushes, I redid an older post today. So, being quite lazy, figured heck, why not post this… heh!

18 Responses to “rare as hen’s teeth”


  1. This is awesome! Totally cracked me up.


  2. Chicken teeth and pink slippers…I’d say Henrietta is indeed a rare bird!!

  3. Vickie Says:

    So cute. So funny. It reminds me of a saying that my Dad’s friend says, “It fits like socks on a rooster.” I like the pink slippers on a chicken. As always, it’s a very well done piece of art.

  4. Cheryl Lynn Says:

    It’s kinda hard looking at this drawing while I’m at work and not getting fired. This is hysterical and fantastic at the same time. I love Henrietta’s slippers and her teeth are the 9th wonder of the world! 🙂

    Have a great week. You deserve it after showcasing such a fabulous drawing.

  5. Vicki Says:

    This redo is fabulous.
    I always wondered how she keeps those bony toes in the slippers, though? 🙂

  6. Mary Says:

    I love this pic – the details and colours are just great!

  7. Jess Says:

    I love your drawings! The expresion on the chicken is so good!x

  8. faruffa Says:

    I love her … lei è così carina!!!

  9. aaronpocock Says:

    gorgeous work. I love the textures Linda. those slippers are hilarious!

  10. Eric Barclay Says:

    Great work. Really wonderful character and concept. Hope you’re having a wonderful Fall!

  11. emily Says:

    hihi… silly hen!
    I like how the paste looks like a worm… or maybe I just associate that way because of the chicken… either way cute cute!
    Cheers!

  12. theartofpuro Says:

    I love it!The concept is perfect and the illo is fantastic!


  13. Oh, Linda! You are a whiz. She’s got lovely teeth, too. Veneers? Bleaching? Even Tom Cruise should be jealous. You are rockin’ that Wacom, girl!


  14. I love the toothpaste. hahahaha

  15. Jannie Says:

    Yay! Hens! Oh the slippers. When you put slippers on your characters its just so cute!! haha!

  16. Monica Says:

    It was interesting to see the original piece and the digital one. You do wonders with both mediums! I love the slippers and the wallpaper. Classy! 🙂

  17. Mary Says:

    Always wondered about “hen’s teeth”…glad to see she takes care of them! And to get from there to “frozen”….great idea!


Leave a Reply

