slither

June 1, 2010

Slithering, slithy toves though they may be, I have a soft, squishy spot in my heart for snails. In fact, I rescue them from certain death whenever I see one crossing a wide expanse of sidewalk, heading for certain foot-stomping death by haters.

This little fellow is sporting the expression they often give me, as they bid me adieu and thank you, while slithering back into the bushes… to eat your plants… bwaaaa haaa haaaa!

Anywho, this is my take on this week’s Illustration Friday word, slither.

17 Responses to “slither”

  1. Jack foster Says:

    Hey Linda! This is it… my favorite for the week! That grateful expression says it all. Your style Rocks! What medium do you use? So cool! All the snails in the world send you a message through me… THANKS!!!

  2. Ivy Says:

    How sweet! ♥

  3. Mohita Says:

    Hahah! Funny. I like the little guy – might be more careful crossing the sidewalk next time… nice one, I can tell you enjoyed yourself!

  4. Dayle Benson Says:

    Very cute, but what about a slug. Are they snails without a travel home?

  5. artseafartsea Says:

    Very cute.

  6. Xiao Mei Lin Says:

    A great illustration and a very heartwarming and personal story. I like the expression a lot.


  7. You make me almost like snails! A great character and I love the colors and textures you created. That subtle reflection on the ground is lovely.


  8. From one slithy tove lover to another…. You Rock Linda!! I can just imagine you rescuing those little slime trailers from a crunchy grave!

  9. E du Plessis Says:

    Ah, yes I also like the snail’s expression. Cute.


  10. Such a cute piece. I love your style. 🙂

  11. kev Brett Says:

    Very cute. Good to see something different, all I could think was snake…
    love your work as ever!

  12. Maria Bogade Says:

    Oh this is so funny an cute!

  13. Eric Barclay Says:

    Really cute- love the angle. Your ‘early’ entry is wonderful, too.

  14. Mary Jane Says:

    This snail ROCKS! I love it. May I ask what medium you use? This is such a beautiful rendering and it is also a delightful character.

  15. tusen Says:

    your snail is such a happy creature 🙂
    I love your colouring technique.

  16. Cheryl Lynn Says:

    This is the cutest little character. Shame on the haters that try to squish the slithering snails. I’m sure they are very grateful to their human friend who saves their lives and wishes them well on their way to the next garden (to be devoured, bwwaaaaa, hahahaha!)

    Love your blog, you are uber talented, lady. Have a great weekend.

  17. lynn gurniak Says:

    very nice snail, just dont like the trails they leave behind. ah ha! Nice job girl. Peace Lynn


Leave a Reply

