layer

February 22, 2011

Apparently, to find out if the stranger you just invited in from the pouring rain is truly a real princess, you must hide a pea under layer upon layer of mattresses and feather beds and wait until the next morning to see if she noticed it.

Who knew?

I was a big fan of Hans Christian Andersen when I was a kid. That could be why the first thing that came to my mind when I heard the word “layer” is the bed that the very bruised, extremely sleep-deprived princess in “The Princess and the Pea” slept in. Either that or the way I have to dress, living in the ever-changing weather of Southern California these days.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

So, killing two birds with one stone, I threw together a sketch for Illustration Friday and an upcoming celebration we’re having, over at the Doodle Diner, of “Tell A Fairy Tale Day” on Saturday, February 26th. I’m hoping to get this all finalized and colorized by then! Also looking forward to seeing what my fellow Doodle Diners come up with!

18 Responses to “layer”

  1. Nancy Lefko Says:

    Wonderful….your art always makes me smile 🙂


  2. Poor princess…. imagine waking with pea sized bruises all over your body!
    Love those layers Linda..can’t wait to see the colored copy!

  3. adam taylor Says:

    Nice drawing! I really like the contrasting style in the bubble. That’s a good touch.

  4. khwhitaker Says:

    awesome, love it! It’s princess in a pea week in blogland I think 😉

  5. Laurie Says:

    Ohhh…your little princess looks so very miserable! And the layers are so interestingly different…very nice!

  6. janie Says:

    fab. look forward to the colour version although I really like the amount of tones you used here.

  7. danireese Says:

    beautiful drawing style and stylization of characters and forms! 🙂


  8. I love it. Poor princess, she looks so tired

  9. erin Says:

    oh I felt like a princess when I lived in southern cal, but I think it was just our lumpy mattress. great illo, can’t wait to see it colourized!

  10. Indigene Says:

    I adore this! Her expression, your depth of line quality and the energy! Double Wow!

  11. lil kim Says:

    great sketch! I did the same subject – great minds, natch…

  12. juca Says:

    I love your style (and frustrated princesse too. :-D).

  13. bobo & julia Says:

    Opps! The pea is out, have a nice sleep now, poor little Princess!
    I enjoy this B/W version very much, wait for the color version to double up my joy!

  14. Brine Blank Says:

    Great completeness of scene!!! Nice detailing…

  15. artseafartsea Says:

    Love this. It is very arty and original.


  16. Well done… Love the whole composition!

  17. Susanna Says:

    love this one with the detail and all!!!

  18. Faruffa Says:

    gorgeous piece Linda, love it 🙂


Leave a Reply

