asleep

June 2, 2011

For reasons I won’t bore you with right now, my doctor suggested I cut down on my caffeine intake. What? Two to three double, short cappuccinos a day is too much?

Apparently it is… who knew?

So, obediently I began drinking herbal tea and felt pretty smug about how healthy I was behaving. That is, until I realized how much I missed the whole coffee ritual. The going, the sitting, the chatting, the buzzing. It would seem coffee is a big part of my life, habitually, socially and emotionally. There may be a few more -allys, but I can’t think of any at the moment. It’s late (and, did I mention I haven’t been drinking caffeine?) You know, there are times when I’m convinced my whole personality is floating inside a hot, steamy mug of joe.

What is the solution? Double, short, DECAF cappuccino. That’s what. Yeah, yeah, I know, what’s the point, right? Well, at first the point was to ease into this new caffeine-less lifestyle. A transition, a fake out on my brain. However, what I found was, be it the placebo effect or actual physical reaction to the 1 to 2% caffeine, I started getting a little buzz from the decaf.

I was thrilled.

I say “was” because after a couple of weeks, things changed a bit. Sure I still get a teensy pick-me-up in the morning, which is great. But somewhere around 2:00 p.m. I hit a slump. A slump I never experienced in my caffeinated days. A slump that has co-workers eyeing me, puzzled by the keyboard pattern on my right cheek and the slight bit of drool on my chin. A slump, for crying out loud. I don’t do slumps!

Alright, what is the solution now? Hmmm, perhaps getting to bed at a decent hour?

Yeah, right, I just crack myself up.

………………………………………………………………………………………………

Funny, when I saw this week’s theme, it reminded me the above post I did 3 years ago. Well, what’s funny is, the same exact thing is going on right now.

Coincidence? I don’t think so.

Anywho, I redrew the image, made a few changes. Other than that, history has repeated itself.

11 Responses to “asleep”


  1. I hear ya…. I could snuggle up with kitty and take a late snooze myself…. but I think I’ll just go pour another cuppa joe… so’s I can get a bit more work done! 😉
    Always a pleasure Linda!!!

  2. Jen Says:

    Oh boy! This is so me. Lavazza Decaf espresso has saved me from total withdrawal… but I must admit my cookie consumption has increased!

    Well done!

  3. Vicki Says:

    Withdrawal headaches, too. Yuck.
    (His cat caf spilled on the floor)

  4. Shielaugh Says:

    I love this illustration…. I feel like this all the time. I was told to cut my intake of caffeine too, because I love coffee and red bull, and apparently never sleeping. I’ve been drinking tea for a year and still have yet to feel the same as I did with coffee (even on days I get 9 hours of sleep). I’m convinced I’ve been having a year long caffeine withdrawal.

  5. artseafartsea Says:

    This is so adorable. Looks like someone we know. As for the caffeine thing, a nap sure helps.

  6. lil kim Says:

    love the sketch! just make sure you don’t drool into your keyboard too much!

  7. khwhitaker Says:

    oh, no caffeine, I can’t imagine a life without coffee, love this 🙂


  8. Another great one, Linda! Your characters are so unique and fun! Enjoyed reading this post too! You are one funny, fun, talented lady!

  9. erin Says:

    hello, coffee is a HEALTH drink! apparently it’s good for the prostate (never mind that I’m female, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!)

  10. Eric Barclay Says:

    Wonderful character… just love the way you draw cats.

  11. Jenni Price Says:

    Love your illustration! It’s so cute and so funny! You’ve got quite the knack for humor-great job!


Leave a Reply

