SkADaMo Day 12

November 12, 2012

Cafe Sketches

One of my favorite things to do, sit in a cafe, drinking a cuppa joe and stealth-sketching folks. You’ll notice everyone is in profile, because I was too chicken to draw anyone who was looking in my direction. I used to be pretty savvy at the casual glance and jot, glance and jot. But it’s been a while. Need to get my cafe stealth-sketch mojo back.

Be sure to stop by and check out my fellow SkADaMoers.

10 Responses to “SkADaMo Day 12”

  1. debjohnson Says:

    I like that you take the take to sketch the people around you. I love the character in each profile and the loose quality of your line work. It’s something I’m trying to do more since my work is usually so tight.

    • sketched out Says:

      Thanks Deb! It’s fun to give yourself permission to be super loose. It’s surprising the little nuances you get that you might not if you were trying harder. At least for me that’s been true.


  2. Incognito…. stealth sketcher extraordinaire!!! They’d be flattered for sure to have you sketch them,

    • sketched out Says:

      Thanks Roberta. That’s nice of you to say. Actually people seem a little squirmy if they notice you look at them and then scratch something out in a notebook. And I guess, who can blame them, eh? They also might not like the weird caricature I turn them into, hee hee!

  3. artseafartsea Says:

    Up to your old tricks eh? Good stuff.


  4. Ha Ha, mine are usually from 3/4 rear so the victim has no chance of catching me! Anyway, I didn’t realize I’m supposed to be posting my sketches until today. I saw it on Julie Zoch’s blog. I will try to scan them all and paste into one group for my blog by . . .Thursday? I’m so technically illiterate. Thanks for creating this event. It’s been inspiring.

  5. sketched out Says:

    Hee hee, a fellow stealth sketcher, I take it!
    Hey, no worries, there are no supposed to’s or rules in this here game. I’ll add your name to the list though. Welcome aboard!


Leave a Reply

