SkADaMo 2013 Day 4

December 4, 2013

annas-cookies-450

Aunt Anna’s Anise Cookies

I made anise cookies last night. I made them to share at my Illustrator monthly meeting’s holiday cookie exchange extravaganza today.

I chose to make anise cookies and this sketch (from last year), in memory of my sweet Aunt Anna who passed away last year, at this time and who’s recipe this is.

It was passed down to her from her mother-in-law of German decent. So they’ve been a family tradition for eons and my family became part of that tradition somewhere in the 50’s, I believe.

I suppose they are an acquired taste, what with that licorice taste from the anise and all. In fact my husband and niece both called them poison cookies until those lovely, seductive, little holiday shaped biscuits finally grew on them. But to say my family loves them is an understatement and now they’ve become an even more important part of our holiday tradition.

Anise cookies.

Anna’s anise cookies.

Aunt Anna’s anise cookies.

Thank you auntie, for being such a wonderful, loving person, my godmother and for leaving us with such a lovely, sweet tasting tradition. You’re always in my heart.