advent calendar – day 1

December 1, 2009

Welcome to my Advent Calendar, everyone!

Although there are many different, wonderful Winter Festivals to celebrate, explore and embrace, my family celebrates Christmas.

A tradition that has always captured my imagination as a child and still does to this day, is the Advent Calendar.  Originally more of a religious article, the Advent Calendar has, in recent years, evolved into a countdown to Christmas Eve for children… of all ages… including me, hee heeee!!!

Sooooo, in keeping with the holiday spirit and in an effort to push myself to draw every day, I’ve decided to post one calendar entry every day until Christmas. That would be 24 posts… count ’em… 24…!

Can she do it? Stop by daily and see… and be sure to click the image to “open” the flap and see what’s inside.

Anywho, my bunny friend here is entangled in Christmas lights in order to squeeze this image into an Illustration Friday post as well. Eh? Eh? Always thinking, right?

So, have a wonderful holiday season, y’all!

24 Responses to “advent calendar – day 1”

  1. Vicki Says:

    This is brilliant! An Advent calendar! Clever, clever, clever.
    Love the bunny.
    Love the Christmas lights.
    Love the Christmas tree.
    Love the ornaments
    Love the teetering stool.
    Love the wallpaper.
    Love the colors.
    LOVE THE BUNNY FEET!

  2. michelle Says:

    hahaha funny…
    Love the concept!

  3. Dave Says:

    Rabbits are always trying to use something other than a ladder to get higher. Safety first sill rabbit. Nice illustration.


  4. Oh my god, this is awesome! Thank you so much for sharing them with us.

  5. Jessie Says:

    Oh you are just brilliant! BRILLIANT!!

  6. erin Says:

    oh goodie 25 days of illustrations! hoo-rray!!

  7. artseafartsea Says:

    Love it. And in keeping with the season too.

  8. erin Says:

    what no chocolate? ha, ha, forgot to click, wow 50 illustrations!! yay! (or 48, taking Christmas off?) so much fun!

  9. jack foster Says:

    What a great idea! Love the surprise inside.. and what a wonderful work of art too! You have my vote for best “entangled” this week! Can’t wait to check out the next 24 days!


  10. LOL!! Oh what fun this will be! Haven’t had an advent calender for years!! So looking forward to opening the little windows!

  11. valgalart Says:

    This is fantastic! I love when you make it snow too 🙂


  12. You ought to publish this, you really should. Maybe by next year?


  13. ohhh this is awesome Linda!!! What a great idea! I love both entries. Feel bad for poor snowman but I’m on my way now, to put him inside the freezer for a bit ;o)


  14. You are brilliant girlfriend!!
    I’ll be back for my daily sketchy advent post!!

  15. Mark Cavell Says:

    Wonderful character illo, and genius advent calendar idea.
    Can’t waitfor the rest.


  16. Brilliant is the right word for this….just BRILLIANT!

    Love the entangled bunny!

    I love this whole advent calendar illustration reveal idea you’ve cooked up here Linda! This is going to be a wonderful month of following these!!! 🙂

  17. Cheryl Lynn Says:

    This is fantastic! What a great idea for self-motivation. I’m trying to get done with a calendar myself, maybe I’ll try the same method.

    Once again, you’ve done it! Have a great weekend.


  18. […] be sure to check out Day 1, Day2 and Day 3, k, thanks! Posted by sketched out Filed in Christmassy, illustration friday […]


  19. […] sure to check out Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6 and Day 7. Posted by sketched out Filed in Christmassy Tags: […]

  20. dot Says:

    This is great! loving the whole series!


  21. […] sure to check out Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6, Day 7, Day 8, Day 9, Day 10, Day 11, Day 12, Day 13 and Day 14. […]


  22. […] and for those who haven’t, be sure to check out Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6, Day 7, Day 8, Day 9, Day 10, Day 11, Day 12, Day 13, Day 14, […]

  23. Mary Says:

    I wish I had seen this sooner, but intent to go back and look at every drawing! Love the tree trimming bunny!


Leave a comment