scared

October 16, 2007

scared.jpg

With a slight chill in the air and the Great Pumpkin scheduled to arrive soon, our minds turn towards all things frightful. Well, mine does anyway. Which is why I was wracking my brain at lunch today, for a Halloween themed cartoon gag. A great many half ideas came to mind, but nothing fully jelled.

So, I doodled around, sipping on my triple brevé cap, searching for ideas. Then, at some point, this extremely frightened figure emerged on the page of my sketch pad. Hmmmm, wonder where that came from? The deep recesses of my neurotic psyche, no doubt.

I showed the drawing to Tom and told him I was thinking about leaving it up to whomever saw it to decide for themselves what this poor, wretched creature was horrified by. I figured, although it might be a little bit of the lazy way out, it might also be a fun little exercise. Tom, not seeming to care for that idea much, simply said “Just put a teeny little spider in front of her face.”

Bingo! Cool idea. It may not be the hysterical gag I was looking for, but it is one commentary on terror, as it comes in many forms. Perhaps the irrational, neurotic kind, among the worst because of it’s persistent and pervasive nature.

So there you go. An aracniphobe. But why stop there? I still invite you to insert your fear here. What would cause you to make an ungodly face like that? Hmmmmmmm? Bwwaaaaa haaaaa haaaaaaa haaaa!

5 Responses to “scared”

  1. Alexis Says:

    It’s funny because I didn’t register the spider at first, and I rather like it better without it. It looks to me like she’s having a complete nervous breakdown— like someone dropped a pot and the clang just sent her over the edge. Hmmm… I guess you don’t have to be a shrink to see what that says about my psyche!

    Very cool as ush linders!!!

  2. artseafartsea Says:

    I LIKE IT! DON’T KNOW HOW YOU KEEP COMING UP WITH THESE IDEAS AND DRAWINGS. BUT DON’T STOP.


  3. I recently used this sketch on my blog to add a little interest to the post. Now, several days later, I realized I should have asked permission to use it. So I feel really dumb. I am so sorry!

    I am asking for permission to keep it on the post. You can read it here. http://chocolateonmycranium.blogspot.com/2008/10/wordfull-wednesday-my-worst-fear.html

    If not, I totally understand and will delete it.

  4. sunanda Says:

    hey i love ur sketch!!!
    i was wonderring if i can use ur sketch for a poster?
    do let me know asap..

  5. Clara M. Says:

    Hello.
    I have a website in Brazil, and I would like to have your permission to publish your draw called scared on it.
    Please contact to me.
    Thanks,
    Clara M.


Leave a comment