HoHoDooDa 2013 is here!

December 1, 2013

bunnee hohodooda 450

Announcing (last minute as is tradition) the beginning of HoHoDooDa 2013!

As nutty as November was, what with PiBoIdMo (thank you so much Tara Lazar!) and SkADaMo 2013, it was just what the doctor ordered as far as a shot of creative, mojo-inducing stress.

A couple of Decembers ago, to keep the momentum going, my fellow doodle pals and inspiring muses, Marion EldridgeLaura Jacobson and I engaged in yet another month-long sketch-a-thon we dubbed HoHoDooDa, short for Holiday Doodle a Day (hmmm, not really that much shorter. Is it?) We did our best to create a holiday-themed doodle a day… or even every other day… or as often as humanly possible, throughout December.

What with the holidays and all, I admit it’s a little crazy and there may be some gnashing of teeth and tears shed, but overall, I’m sure it will be a blast and very rewarding, as it was last year. So, doin’ it again this year!

Just like SkADaMo, anyone who wants to join in is more than welcome! Regardless of what winter holiday you celebrate!

Rules for HoHoDooDa:

“What are the rules for HoHoDooDa?” You may ask.

1. THERE ARE NO RULES! NO SIGN UP! NO REGISTRATION! NO GIVEAWAYS OR GUEST POSTERS!  No regulations, themes, daily words, Facebook pages or anything else resembling organization. Just lots of holiday doodling, commenting back and forth and hopefully lots of inspiration and craft honing!
HoHoDooDa Doodlers are scoff-laws and Mavricks! (Really, I’m just not that organized.) The only code we live by this month is Doodle! Doodle! Doodle! Doodle everyday from December 1 to December 31, or at least try to.
You may not Doodle every single day, but by golly you will have tried and you’ll have more doodles in your sketchbook at the end of December than you might have otherwise.
So, there’s that!

2. If you send me a link to your blog, (or wherever you are posting your HoHoDooDa doodles) I will keep a running list of all the participants and their links on my blog. This way we can all keep in touch and root each other on and enjoy the sugarplum fruits of each other’s doodle labors

If there are any broken links, bad links, I forgot anyone, misspelled anyone’s name or any other heinous act was performed, please let me know and I’ll do my best to correct it.

3. Smile, this is fun!

Doodle on my fellow HoHoDooDa Doodlers, (should there be any!)

33 Responses to “HoHoDooDa 2013 is here!”


  1. I wanted to do this, but I came up with an Advent gift for my daughter, since she is far away again. I’ll be posting ‘in theme’ every day though, and checking out the HoHoDooDadlers! Thanks, Linda! Love the bitty-bells!

  2. Susanna Says:

    I have enjoyed joining SkaDaMo!!
    So it will be even a bigger challenge to do a HoHoCDooDa…I’m not into the holiday theme so much…but I will give it a try!

    http://susiart.blogspot.nl/

  3. Bobbie Dacus Says:

    I’m going to give it a try, too! SkaDaMo was a big challenge for me too.. want to keep the momentum going!

    http://artsyteapot.blogspot.com


  4. I THINK I’m in. …. I’m not a quick doodler, so it’s going to be a gigantic challenge!!

  5. Kellie Says:

    This looks like a lot of fun. Why not I say!!

  6. Jacqui Says:

    This sounds great Linda. I am not sure my shoulder will co-operate and allow me to participate but I will sure be dropping by and checking out all the great stuff you all produce. 🙂

  7. Robyn Jorde Says:

    count me in, too! I didn’t do SkADaMo, but could use a challenge like this.
    http://storybooky.wordpress.com/


  8. I love it Linda! I’m in 100% HoHo…HO!! 🙂

  9. writersideup Says:

    Love, love, LOVE your work 😀

  10. Jill Tadros Says:

    I will join in the fun!

  11. Love.Ewe Says:

    The family was sick for a bit and missed the end of SkADaMo, but I’m in for this one too, if you’ll have me! 😉

  12. Angie Jones Says:

    count me in SkADaMo rocked


  13. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I’m IN again. You are a great arm twister! And like last year, it will be posted in fits and spurts. I’m still trying to get moved in here, which means shopping to replace all the furniture I did not move with me!

  14. erin Says:

    Hey I want in! I’m so rusty though, gotta dust off those reindeer. Now I know how Santa feels how does he do it year after year? We’re living in a new place (again) so I hope I find some fresh inspiration here in Hawai’i, feral pigs and cats abound! I’ve missed you and else everyone in the doodle world.

    http://rapturepetsitting.blogspot.com/

    (I also have a wordpress page but lost my password, do’h)

  15. Cecilia Says:

    I would love to do a month of December sketches 🙂
    http://ceciliaaclark.blogspot.com.au I am off to upload five days worth.(I have been sketching and oddly enough they have the right theme…woo hoo)

  16. S. D. Browne Says:

    This looks like fun! I’m a little late, but I’d like to give it a go! I’ve been posting christmas cards anyway almost every day, so that can be my makeup 🙂

    http://brown-comics.blogspot.com/


  17. Linda I really enjoyed SkADaMo last month and would love to be added to the HoHoDooDa list. I added some sketches on my blog, here it is https://ludakiperberg.com

    Thanks

  18. Diana Zipeto Says:

    Linda,
    I’d love to be a late addition to your list. SkADaMo was a great challenge. Thanks for setting this up.
    Diana
    My blog: http://dianasketches.blogspot.com/


Leave a comment