snatchkee

May 20, 2008

I am happy to report that I am not going crazy, nor am I suffering from memory loss. My typical morning ritual of ransacking the house, looking for car keys, minutes before the time I should be leaving for work, the rant to follow and subsequent hair-pulling, can all be easily explained away.

This morning, as I was systematically dumping out the entire contents of my purse with one hand and wiping tears of frustration with the other, I spotted, from the blurry corner of my right eye, the dread Snatchkee, tiptoeing along the baseboard, with the keys in question, in his grubby little mitts.

I immediately sprung into action, grabbing an empty mayonnaise jar from the recycling bin and with the agility and stealth of a… er… um… Labrador puppy, pounced and scooped the wee, pink, horned culprit into my jar. I punched some air holes into the lid and took him to work with me. I spent the whole commute scolding him while he sat pouting in his jar in the passenger seat and yes, I probably should have been paying more attention to my driving. In fact, I cut some poor lady off changing lanes on I5. Of course, had she not been on her cell phone… but, I digress.

Even as I write, the little monster is sitting on my desk, in his jar, making wide-mouth frog faces at me. Yeah, like that’s going to make me release him any faster. I’m still trying to figure out what to do with him.

What should I do? What would you do?

18 Responses to “snatchkee”

  1. Vicki Says:

    What you should do?
    You should keep him in the jar.
    I don’t want him taking my llaves.
    . . . but he is pretty cute.

    You are the best!


  2. I totally feel for you. Not everyone knows of the dreaded Snatchkee!

    I think you should keep him locked up. That’s one less Snatchkee to worry about!

    But I agree, he does look kinda cute!

  3. tombarrett Says:

    My question is “How did you get your keys in the process of scooping him up?”

    Get him a small hampster run, throw in a few keys for him to play with, and keep him as a pet.

  4. Jess Says:

    Stick him on a key ring!!
    BTW I LOVE this!


  5. i would give him kisses – its obvious he just needs love..hehe

  6. tiddlyinks Says:

    Love, love, love your sense of humor. I laughed out loud several times reading your blog! 🙂

    Keep the little sucker! Never let him out! I can’t catch his cousin at my house! I will have to try the mayonaise jar trick. 🙂
    Cheers.

  7. Mary Beth Says:

    Please don’t let him go – there are already too many of them loose in my house and my office. Or do they live in my purse, hiding under the ever present paperback, with my keys dangling just out of reach?

  8. Angela Says:

    But, he’s so darn cute!!

    I always want to know the ‘why’ of things, so I say you put the spotlight on him, and interrogate his pink booty. What’s his master plan? What’s he going to do with all these keys, and could he find a substitute thing to steal that you wouldn’t miss so much, like junk mail??

  9. Bobo's slave Says:

    Oh! He is far too cute. I don’t mind to adopt him.

    He seems to have collected so many keys in his dark little den, have you find out who the owners?


  10. You could change professions and be the leader of a band of Snatch Key Pick Pockets! You could hold him hostage until all of his relatives join your shifty little group…. you could really clean up!… yes sir!
    …..but that’s just me… do what you want!….

    LOL! Clever, clever, clever girlfriend!

  11. eli Says:

    cute little monster!

  12. valgalart Says:

    I would give him all of the old keys that don’t work and maybe a spare and put him back in his little cubby because he seems kinda special!


  13. Hilarious! I think I have one of those living at my house, but haven’t spotted him yet! Maybe he is running with his evil twin, PhoneThief. Those little rascals….

    t

  14. artseafartsea Says:

    Where do u get the time to be so creative. I can’t even put one thing together a week for the blog. But hey that’s me. Keep it up and always leave em laffing.

  15. Pickledog Says:

    I looks like he has quite a stash of keys in his Snatchkee hole. He is pretty cute, so I’d keep him in an aquarium, and maybe feed a couple of old keys each week.

  16. Mary Says:

    Hilarious!….and so cute (worthy of a book). Maybe you can give him a ring of all the misc. keys that everyone hangs on to and has no idea what they go to any more ….but don’t dare throw them away just in case they might need them!

  17. gina Says:

    I have 3 snachkee in my house too, each one is looking at the right time to hide my stuff, my husband stuff and my daughter toys… not only keys! be carefull… ^_*

  18. studio lolo Says:

    I’d introduce him to Joey 😉
    Besides, I have my own Snatchkee here, er…somewhere. Now where did I put him????


Leave a Reply

